Up to 18% off unlimited packagesSee unlimited offers
OpenSimβ„’
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs

Loading page...

Download our app

Roam Smarter on AndroidFly Connected on iPhone
OpenSimβ„’

getopensim.com

Explore

Country eSIMsRegional eSIMsMy eSIMs

Help

SupportResourceseSIM compatibilityPrivacy PolicyTerms & Conditions

Let's stay connected

WhatsApp support β†—[email protected]
Β© 2026 OpenSimβ„’Previously Roaming eSIM. Same accounts. Same team.
OpenSimβ„’
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs
Resources/eSIM Research/International Roaming Day-Pass Trigger Index: What Starts a Daily Charge at 10 Carriers

International Roaming Day-Pass Trigger Index: What Starts a Daily Charge at 10 Carriers

eSIM ResearchBy OpenSim research teamPublished September 1, 2026Updated September 1, 2026
Follow OpenSim

Add us to your preferred sources on Google.

Add to preferred sources↗
Ten carrier roaming programs use three different models to start a charged day

Ten daily-roaming programs in this study use three different start rules. Eight say the fee begins when the traveler uses data, makes or answers a call, or sends a text. Visible says its Global Pass session begins when the device connects to a foreign carrier. Xfinity Mobile describes data use as the action that starts its Global Travel Pass.

The clocks differ too. Six programs use a 24-hour period from first use or connection. Rogers and Bell stop the charged day at midnight Eastern Time. TELUS currently publishes two incompatible descriptions on the same page: one ends at 11:59 p.m. in the destination, while another lasts 24 hours from first use. Telstra publishes one clock for Upfront plans and another for non-Upfront plans.

Study result: "daily roaming" does not describe one billing event. The ten checked programs use three trigger models and four clock classes, including one unresolved first-party conflict. A traveler needs to know what starts the fee and when it ends to predict another charge.

This is a documentation audit, not a bill test. We did not create roaming traffic, inspect customer accounts or dispute a charge. Every classification comes from a current first-party carrier page checked on September 1, 2026. "Not stated" means the checked pages did not resolve the point; it never means "free."

Download the roaming trigger CSV or open the complete JSON dataset. The JSON contains the fixed sample rule, field definitions, scoring method, first-party URLs, ten competing pages, ten public traveler questions, the source-file checksum and a SHA-256 checksum for each normalized row.

Which connection choice fits your trip?

What you need abroadBetter starting pointWhat to confirm before departure
Home number, ordinary carrier calls and SMS, and domestic-plan dataThe home carrier's roaming program may be the simpler optionTrigger actions, destination eligibility, price, high-speed allowance, long-distance exclusions and the billing clock
Mobile data for maps, messages and travel apps without a home-carrier daily data triggerA destination or regional Roaming eSIM packagePhone compatibility, package coverage, activation rule, network, hotspot support and any daily high-speed allowance
Home-number incoming SMS plus Roaming eSIM dataA dual-line setup can work only if the carrier documents safe incoming-SMS treatmentRoaming off on the home data line, Roaming eSIM selected for cellular data, data switching off and the carrier's call, voicemail and Wi-Fi Calling rules
No home-carrier roaming at allDisable the home line or use the carrier's documented roaming blockWhether disabling the line also removes the calls or verification texts you need
A few intentional home-carrier daysKeep the day pass available and start each period deliberatelyExact start time, reset time and background processes before the next period begins

Explore the 10-program CSV

Would this phone action start the carrier's daily fee?

Choose an action, market or documentation state. "Not stated" means the checked carrier pages did not resolve the field; it does not mean the action is free.

Loading the roaming trigger CSV...

What starts a daily international roaming charge?

Eight of ten programs start on talk, sent text or data use, while one starts on foreign-network connection and one on data use

The eight-program majority follows a familiar pattern: mobile data, an outbound call, an answered inbound call or a sent SMS can start the charged period. That group includes AT&T, Verizon, Rogers, Bell, TELUS, Telstra, Vodafone Australia and Optus.

The similarity stops at the headline. Received messages, Wi-Fi Calling, voicemail, clock time, destination changes and allowance exhaustion are handled differently. Those details determine whether a traveler who intends to keep the home line quiet actually succeeds.

Talk, sent text or data: eight programs

These carriers publish a use-based trigger, but the definition of "use" is not identical:

  • AT&T names data, talking and sent texts. It explicitly says received texts do not start the fee and warns that background apps can.
  • Verizon names made or answered calls, sent texts and data. It explicitly names app refresh, syncing and software updates as background-data triggers.
  • Rogers names sent texts, made or answered calls and data. Its current FAQ excludes ordinary incoming texts and unanswered calls, while also describing Wi-Fi Calling cases that can incur roaming charges.
  • Bell names made or answered calls, sent texts, data sent or received and Apple Live Voicemail.
  • TELUS names data, sent texts, made or answered calls and voicemail checks. It excludes incoming SMS from the Easy Roam trigger.
  • Telstra names made or received calls, sent SMS and mobile data. Its current explainer explicitly includes background data.
  • Vodafone Australia names made or received calls, sent SMS or MMS and data. It says received messages are free and do not start the $5 fee.
  • Optus names made or received calls, sent SMS and data, including MMS data. It excludes emergency calls, received SMS and calls to Optus Customer Care from starting the pass.

Foreign-network connection: Visible

Visible's current Global Pass terms use a broader start rule than the other rows. They say the 24-hour unlimited session begins when the device connects to a foreign carrier's network. The terms also require Global Pass, AutoPay, a valid payment method, data roaming and Wi-Fi Calling to be enabled.

That is not the same as a fee that waits for an app, call or sent message. A traveler relying on Visible should use the connection rule printed in the terms, not assume the AT&T or Verizon trigger applies because the brands share a U.S. market.

Data use: Xfinity Mobile

Xfinity Mobile's Global Travel Pass page says the pass starts the first time the line uses data in a covered destination. It repeats that a line is not charged until data starts the pass and gives 24-hour examples.

This classification applies only to the data-pass start. It does not say that international calls or messages are free. Xfinity's page separates phone-line data benefits from other international usage, and it publishes different limitations for tablets and smartwatches.

Why the distinction matters: "not a pass trigger" and "not billable" are different statements. The explorer shows the pass-start rule. The carrier's separate call, message, pay-per-use and destination terms still apply.

When does the next roaming day begin?

Six carrier programs use a 24-hour clock, two use a fixed midnight, one has conflicting first-party descriptions and one depends on the customer's plan

Six rows use a rolling or allowance-limited 24-hour period: AT&T, Verizon, Visible, Xfinity Mobile, Vodafone Australia and Optus. Rogers and Bell use a fixed midnight. TELUS is unresolved because its current page publishes both a destination-midnight rule and a 24-hour-from-first-use rule. Telstra depends on the plan type.

The difference becomes practical late in the day. A program that ends at a fixed midnight can create a short first paid period when use starts near that cutoff. A rolling 24-hour period usually carries the traveler into the following day. Optus adds another condition: its Daily Roaming pass ends after 24 hours or when the included data is used, whichever happens first. Continued usage can add another pass.

Rolling 24-hour periods

AT&T and Verizon start the 24-hour timer on qualifying use. Visible starts it on foreign-network connection. Xfinity starts it on data. Vodafone Australia starts a 24-hour block on first qualifying use. Optus uses 24 hours unless the allowance runs out first.

For these programs, the departure question is not "What happens at midnight?" It is "At what exact time did the current session start?" A traveler who first used the line at 4:20 p.m. should not assume that the following morning is a new billed day.

Fixed carrier midnight

Rogers and Bell use Eastern Time even when the traveler is far from Canada. Their cutoff therefore follows the home carrier's clock rather than the travel destination's midnight.

Rogers and Bell also publish cases where U.S. and international use can create separate fees on the same Eastern Time day. A border crossing is therefore both a coverage event and a billing-zone event.

TELUS publishes conflicting clock definitions

TELUS's current Easy Roam FAQ says an activated period remains valid until 11:59 p.m. in the time zone where the traveler is roaming. A later answer on the same page says the fee covers 24 hours from first use. Those rules produce different results for late-day use, so the dataset does not select one or award TELUS the billing-clock disclosure point.

Before relying on a reset time, check the current Easy Roam description in My TELUS or ask TELUS to confirm which rule applies to the line. The conflict is a documentation finding, not evidence that either clock was applied to a bill.

Telstra's plan-dependent clock

Telstra's current summary says Upfront plans use 24 hours from first use. Non-Upfront plans end at 11:59 p.m. Australian Eastern Standard Time. A comparison that labels Telstra only "per day" loses the part a traveler needs to schedule usage.

Only five carriers explicitly exclude received SMS from the trigger

AT&T, Rogers, TELUS, Vodafone Australia and Optus explicitly publish a no-charge or no-trigger position for ordinary received SMS in the checked material. Verizon, Visible, Xfinity Mobile, Bell and Telstra do not resolve the ordinary received-SMS trigger on the main pages used for this dataset.

That split is about documentation, not an assumption that the other five charge. The safe interpretation of "not stated" is to ask the carrier or use an account-level roaming block when a received code must not create a fee.

Messages can also change form. An iMessage, RCS message, MMS or app message may use data instead of plain SMS. A phone can fall back from an internet message to SMS or MMS depending on settings and connectivity. The carrier's ordinary received-SMS exception does not automatically cover every message type.

Half the carriers explicitly warn about background data

AT&T, Verizon, Rogers, TELUS and Telstra explicitly mention background, automatic or unintended data on the checked pages. Bell says data sent or received can trigger the fee and names Apple Live Voicemail, but it does not publish the same general background-data warning. Visible, Xfinity Mobile, Vodafone Australia and Optus do not earn the field because the checked text does not make that separate point.

The scoring rule is intentionally strict. A carrier gets the background-data point only when it names the risk. We do not convert a broad "data use" statement into a more specific disclosure.

Common processes named by the carriers include:

  • app content refresh;
  • email or cloud syncing;
  • software updates;
  • Wi-Fi Assist or mobile fallback;
  • push email and notifications;
  • cloud backups;
  • location or find-my-device activity;
  • Live Voicemail;
  • picture and video messages that use data.

The traveler does not need to open an app for some of those processes to run. The carrier record, rather than the user's intent, determines whether roaming data occurred.

Which carriers publish the clearest trigger guidance?

The six-point score measures whether a carrier publishes a clear trigger rule, incoming-SMS position, background-data position, billing clock, practical avoidance guidance and program boundary. It does not grade price, network performance or customer service.

πŸ† AT&T: 6 of 6 documentation fields

AT&T publishes the actions that start a period, the 24-hour clock, the received-text exception, background-app risk, Wi-Fi Calling guidance and coverage boundaries. Its documentation does not make International Day Pass the right choice for everyone, but it gives a traveler enough information to predict the main start event.

πŸ† Rogers: 6 of 6 documentation fields

Rogers publishes the Eastern Time clock, incoming-text and unanswered-call treatment, background-data examples, Wi-Fi Calling conditions, a dual-SIM Roaming eSIM instruction and the separate U.S.-versus-international zone issue.

TELUS: 5 of 6 documentation fields

TELUS publishes the incoming-SMS exception, voicemail trigger and specific background processes. Its page also distinguishes Wi-Fi from cellular use and gives an airplane-mode option. It does not receive the billing-clock point because the same page gives both a destination-midnight rule and a 24-hour rule.

AT&T and Rogers are the two complete-disclosure leaders, not automatic price winners. A complete rule can still describe an expensive product. The Roaming Rip-Off Index for US Travelers owns the separate 5GB price comparison.

U.S. carrier trigger findings

AT&T International Day Pass

AT&T says the first data use, talk or sent text starts a 24-hour period. Received texts are rated as domestic and do not start the daily fee. Its support page also says background apps can trigger the fee and recommends airplane mode with Wi-Fi when the traveler does not want a new period.

The page separately addresses Wi-Fi Calling: a Wi-Fi call to the United States has different treatment from a Wi-Fi call elsewhere. Calls outside the program's included destinations can also create international long-distance charges. A traveler using Roaming eSIM data while keeping an AT&T number should therefore treat Wi-Fi Calling as a separate decision, not assume every call rides free over the data line.

First-party evidence: AT&T's International Day Pass support page and AT&T's roaming usage guidance.

Verizon TravelPass

Verizon says a 24-hour TravelPass session starts when the traveler makes or answers a call, sends a text or uses data. It gives unusually specific background examples: weather or fitness app refresh, email syncing and device or app updates.

The consumer FAQ does not state the ordinary received-SMS position in the same section. We leave that field unresolved rather than import an answer from old forum posts or third-party advice. Verizon also separates cruise and in-flight passes from terrestrial TravelPass.

First-party evidence: Verizon's TravelPass FAQ and Verizon's international travel FAQ.

Visible Global Pass

Visible's legal terms say the session begins when the device connects to a foreign carrier. The 24-hour session is therefore connection-based in this dataset. The terms also say entering multiple Global Pass countries during one 24-hour period can start a new session and fee for each new country.

That cross-country rule differs from AT&T's current statement that one daily fee can cover multiple included destinations during the same 24-hour period. Brand familiarity is not a substitute for reading the named program.

First-party evidence: Visible's Global Pass terms and Visible's international services guide.

Xfinity Mobile Global Travel Pass

For an eligible line that uses Global Travel Pass, Xfinity says first data use starts the pass and gives examples that run exactly 24 hours. A new active session begins automatically when data is used after the prior period expires.

The pass is limited to eligible phone lines. Xfinity now says its current Mobile Plus, Mobile Select and Premium Unlimited plans already include international data, so those lines do not need Global Travel Pass. The page also gives different treatment to calls, messages, tablets and watches. Those plan and device limits are outside the trigger score but matter before assuming one account rule covers every connected device.

First-party evidence: Xfinity Mobile's Global Travel Pass support page and Xfinity Mobile's international plan page.

Canadian carrier trigger findings

Rogers Roam Like Home Daily

Rogers' billing FAQ says incoming text messages and unanswered calls do not create roaming billing when the traveler has opted out and uses pay per use. Its broader Roam Like Home guidance applies the daily charge when the enrolled line uses the covered service. The page warns that iMessage fallback, background refresh, Wi-Fi Assist, backups and push email can use billable service.

Rogers also gives direct separate-line guidance: select the Roaming eSIM or travel SIM as the primary data line. That step helps, but the home Rogers line can still make or answer calls, send SMS or use certain Wi-Fi Calling paths unless the traveler controls them.

First-party evidence: Rogers' roaming billing FAQ and Rogers' roaming program page.

Bell Roam Better

Bell says Roam Better starts on a day when the line makes or answers a call, sends a text, uses Apple Live Voicemail or sends or receives data. The period ends at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time. It does not become a rolling 24-hour block simply because the traveler is in Europe or Asia.

The checked page says Bell's own notification messages do not create a charge. It does not extend that statement to every ordinary incoming SMS, so the dataset keeps the received-SMS field unresolved.

First-party evidence: Bell's Roam Better FAQ.

TELUS Easy Roam

TELUS says Easy Roam starts when the phone uses data, sends a text, makes or answers a call, or checks voicemail. Incoming texts do not start the fee. Its page does not currently provide one reliable end time: the FAQ names 11:59 p.m. in the roaming location, while another answer says 24 hours from first use.

Its avoidance guidance names background refresh, push notifications, operating-system updates and find-my-device pings. It recommends airplane mode for the clearest no-roaming state. That is stronger than assuming the data-roaming switch controls every voice or message action.

First-party evidence: TELUS travel and roaming guidance and TELUS mobility add-ons.

Australian carrier trigger findings

Telstra International Roaming Day Pass

Telstra says making or receiving a call, sending SMS or using mobile data starts the pass. Its explainer includes background data. The clock then depends on whether the line is on an Upfront or non-Upfront plan.

The checked summary does not state the ordinary received-SMS position. Travelers who need codes without a paid day should confirm the current plan treatment rather than infer it from another Australian carrier.

First-party evidence: Telstra's International Roaming Day Pass summary and Telstra's roaming explainer.

Vodafone Australia $5 Roaming

Vodafone says the fee applies on days when the line makes or receives a call, sends SMS or MMS, or uses data in an included destination. Receiving messages is free and does not trigger the fee. Days run for 24 hours from first use.

The program also has an annual day allowance and destination list. Once those conditions no longer apply, pay-as-you-go roaming can replace the $5 treatment. The trigger matrix cannot override that eligibility boundary.

First-party evidence: Vodafone Australia's international roaming guide and Vodafone Australia's roaming rates.

Optus Daily Roaming

Optus says Daily Roaming starts automatically on eligible plans when the traveler first uses talk, text or data. The detailed terms say emergency calls, received SMS and calls to Optus Customer Care do not start a pass.

The clock has an allowance condition. A pass ends after 24 hours or when the included data is consumed. If the traveler continues using the service, Optus can add another data block and fee before the original 24 hours would have ended.

First-party evidence: Optus international roaming guidance and the Optus Choice Plus critical information summary.

πŸ† Where Roaming eSIM has the clearer billing edge

A Roaming eSIM package is purchased with a displayed package price, allowance, validity and coverage scope. It does not wait for a home-carrier call, sent SMS or background process to decide whether to add a daily roaming fee to the Roaming eSIM line.

Roaming eSIM wins on trigger simplicity: the selected package has one displayed purchase price. There is no separate home-carrier "used today" event on the Roaming eSIM line that turns an idle day into another carrier day-pass charge.

This advantage has a boundary. Roaming eSIM does not control the home SIM. If the AT&T, Verizon, Rogers, Bell, TELUS, Telstra, Vodafone, Optus, Visible or Xfinity line remains active, its carrier can still apply the documented roaming rule to calls, messages, voicemail, Wi-Fi Calling or data from that line.

Roaming eSIM is also data-only unless the live package card explicitly says otherwise. A carrier day pass can be better for a short trip when the traveler needs ordinary calls and texts from the home number, already has included roaming, or values one familiar bill more than a separate data package. The findings remain valid in those cases because the study compares triggers, not a predetermined winner.

How to use Roaming eSIM data without accidentally using the home line

The exact menu labels vary by phone and software version. Check the home carrier's instructions before relying on a dual-line setup.

  1. Confirm the phone is unlocked and supports Roaming eSIM. Use the Roaming eSIM compatibility checker before buying.
  2. Install the Roaming eSIM on a reliable connection. Read the package activation rule first because validity can start at purchase, installation or network connection depending on the plan.
  3. Label both lines clearly. Names such as Home and Travel are easier to verify than two carrier abbreviations.
  4. Choose Roaming eSIM for cellular data. Do not leave the default data line on the home SIM.
  5. Turn off cellular-data switching. That stops the phone from moving data back to the home line when the travel line is weak.
  6. Keep data roaming off on the home line. Follow the carrier's own rule; the Roaming eSIM roaming-settings guide explains why the travel line can need a different setting.
  7. Decide whether the home line should remain on. Keeping it available can help with incoming SMS, but calls, voicemail, Wi-Fi Calling and message fallback can have separate consequences.
  8. Test the route before depending on it. Open a map or browser, then check the phone's per-line data counters and the Roaming eSIM package balance.
  9. Use airplane mode when no home-carrier cellular connection is acceptable. Turn Wi-Fi back on only after confirming the cellular radio is off.
  10. Save support and account details offline. A carrier alert can arrive after the triggering event, so do not make the alert your only control.

Apple's current dual-SIM support page explains how one iPhone uses one cellular-data network at a time and how cellular-data switching works. Android labels differ by manufacturer. External source links on this study are marked nofollow; the carrier and device maker remain the source of truth for their own services.

Ten roaming day-pass questions travelers are asking

These questions came from current public search and Reddit discussions. They were used to shape the fields, not as evidence for carrier behavior.

Can a few kilobytes of background data start a full daily fee?

Yes when the carrier records those bytes as qualifying roaming data under a use-based program. AT&T and Verizon explicitly say background data can start their daily period. Rogers, TELUS and Telstra also publish background-data warnings. Check the bill detail with the carrier if the recorded usage is disputed.

Why was I charged when data roaming looked off?

The switch may not explain the event. A call, sent text, voicemail action, message fallback, Wi-Fi Calling path or earlier data event can be enough under some programs. The carrier's timestamp and usage category are needed to identify the claimed trigger.

Does receiving an SMS or verification code start the roaming day?

AT&T, Rogers, TELUS, Vodafone Australia and Optus explicitly exclude ordinary received SMS in the checked documentation. The other five rows are unresolved in this audit. Confirm the exact carrier and message type because MMS, iMessage, RCS and app messages can use data.

Does an incoming call create a daily charge?

Eight use-based programs name a made or answered call. Rogers explicitly excludes an unanswered call, while Bell names Apple Live Voicemail as a trigger. Declining, screening, forwarding and voicemail behavior can vary, so the safest answer comes from the home carrier's current call treatment.

Can I keep the home number active and use Roaming eSIM for data?

Often yes on a compatible unlocked dual-SIM phone. Select Roaming eSIM for cellular data, turn data switching off and follow the home carrier's roaming rules. Keeping the home number active does not make its calls, sent messages or voicemail free.

Is turning off data roaming enough?

Not when the program can start on calls or sent texts. Visible's terms are broader still because they say foreign-network connection starts the session. Airplane mode or an account-level roaming block is clearer when no home-carrier cellular use is acceptable.

Does every roaming day last 24 hours?

No. Six programs in this sample use a 24-hour period, two use a fixed midnight, TELUS publishes conflicting clock descriptions and Telstra depends on the plan. Optus can also start another pass when the data allowance is exhausted before 24 hours.

Can Wi-Fi Calling trigger a roaming fee?

It can under carrier-specific rules. AT&T distinguishes calls to the United States from calls elsewhere. Rogers says some outbound Wi-Fi calls or texts to non-Canadian numbers can create Roam Like Home charges. Read the home carrier's Wi-Fi Calling terms before treating Wi-Fi as automatically outside roaming billing.

Can crossing a border create another daily charge?

Yes for some programs or rate zones. Visible says a new Global Pass country during the same 24-hour period can begin another session. Rogers and Bell publish separate U.S. and international daily treatment. AT&T says one fee can cover multiple included destinations during its 24-hour period. The route matters.

Is a carrier day pass ever better than Roaming eSIM?

Yes. A short-trip traveler who needs the home number for ordinary calls and SMS, has included roaming, or wants the domestic allowance may prefer the carrier program. Roaming eSIM has the clearer package-price structure for data, but the live destination package, network and allowance still need to fit the trip.

Research method

Fixed sample

We selected ten current consumer daily-roaming programs with public first-party start rules: four U.S. brands, the three Canadian national operators and the three Australian national operators. The sample was fixed before scoring. It is not a market-share ranking and does not represent every home country.

The named programs are AT&T International Day Pass, Verizon TravelPass, Visible Global Pass, Xfinity Mobile Global Travel Pass, Rogers Roam Like Home Daily, Bell Roam Better with home data, TELUS Easy Roam, Telstra International Roaming Day Pass, Vodafone Australia $5 Roaming and Optus Daily Roaming.

Field classification

A field receives Yes only when the checked carrier documentation names the action or condition as a trigger. No requires an explicit exclusion. Not stated means we could not resolve the field on the checked first-party page set.

The normalized trigger model has three possible values:

  • talk, sent text or data use;
  • foreign-network connection;
  • data use only.

The normalized clock has four groups:

  • rolling or allowance-limited 24 hours;
  • fixed midnight;
  • conflicting first-party descriptions;
  • plan-dependent.

We did not infer a background-data disclosure from the words "use data." The carrier had to name background, automatic or unintended data. This rule prevents the study from awarding detail that the traveler cannot actually read.

Six-point disclosure score

Each program can earn one point for:

  1. a clear start rule;
  2. a stated incoming-SMS position;
  3. an explicit background-data position;
  4. a defined billing clock;
  5. practical avoidance guidance;
  6. a program, device or destination boundary.

The score measures documentation completeness. A high score does not mean the program is cheaper, faster or more reliable.

Reproducible files

The editable source record is scripts/research/data/roaming-day-pass-trigger-index-source.json. Run:

``bash node scripts/research/generate-roaming-day-pass-trigger-index.mjs ``

The script normalizes the rows, calculates the findings, creates a checksum for each row, writes the public CSV and JSON, and renders all three charts. It fails if the fixed sample no longer resolves to ten rows or the expected three-model split.

Data dictionary

FieldMeaning
trigger_model_groupThe normalized start rule used in aggregate findings
data_triggerWhether first-party documentation names data or connection as a start event
background_data_explicitWhether the carrier separately names background, automatic or unintended data
outbound_call_triggerWhether making a call starts the named daily program
answered_inbound_call_triggerWhether answering a call starts the program
sent_sms_triggerWhether sending ordinary SMS starts the program
received_sms_triggerExplicit carrier position on ordinary received SMS, otherwise Not stated
clock_groupRolling 24 hours, fixed midnight, conflicting first-party statements or plan-dependent
clock_detailCarrier-specific reset or allowance condition
start_requirementEnrollment, plan or setup condition needed before the named program applies
avoidance_guidanceCarrier-published steps for preventing or controlling another fee
boundaryDestination, device, zone or excluded-service limit
disclosure_scoreCount of the six published documentation fields
normalized_record_sha256Checksum of the normalized row for change tracking

What the trigger index cannot determine

  • It does not test whether a carrier bills every customer exactly as the public page describes.
  • It does not decide whether a disputed charge is valid.
  • It does not compare current retail prices or included high-speed allowances.
  • It does not cover every carrier, country, prepaid product, business plan or roaming-inclusive domestic plan.
  • It does not treat cruise or in-flight roaming as ordinary terrestrial service.
  • It does not measure network speed, latency, availability or customer-support quality.
  • It does not promise that a dual-SIM phone will prevent home-carrier charges without correct settings.
  • It does not assume a missing disclosure means a missing charge.

The correct next step for an individual bill is to ask the carrier for the timestamp, usage type, visited network and program that created the fee. The correct next step before travel is to save the applicable terms and configure both lines before departure.

Why this study fills a content gap

Some competitor pages also flatten materially different programs into one "automatic day pass" claim. The carrier sources do not support that shortcut. Visible publishes a network-connection trigger. Xfinity publishes a data-use trigger. Rogers, Bell and TELUS use different midnight definitions. The study keeps those differences visible.

Citation, license and corrections

Suggested citation: Roaming eSIM research team. "International Roaming Day-Pass Trigger Index: What Starts a Daily Charge at 10 Carriers." September 1, 2026.

The normalized CSV and JSON are published for reuse under CC BY 4.0. Attribute the study, keep the September 1, 2026 source-check date with reused findings and link to this page. Carrier page text and trademarks remain the property of their respective owners.

For the wider connection-method decision, compare Roaming eSIM with home-carrier roaming. Use the 5GB roaming cost study for price, the calls and SMS guide for number continuity, the Wi-Fi Calling abroad index for carrier calling rules and the voicemail abroad index before leaving the home line active.

If a carrier changes a start rule or a source no longer supports a row, contact Roaming eSIM with the carrier, program, current URL and affected field. We will recheck the source, correct supported errors and regenerate the public files rather than silently change a finding.

Roaming eSIM plans with a displayed package price

Compare global, regional, and country OpenSim eSIM plans

Choose coverage that matches the countries on your route, then compare data, validity, activation, and hotspot terms.

Global plan

Global (120+ areas) eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.015 reviews

120+ destination coverage from $8.9

View plans
Regional plan

Europe eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.015 reviews

41-destination coverage from $3.2

View plans
Regional plan

Asia (20 areas) eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.011 reviews

20-destination coverage from $3.2

View plans
Regional plan

North America eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.013 reviews

3-destination coverage from $2.3

View plans

Keep reading

More in esim research

View category
←Previous guideEurope eSIM Border-Gap Index: Which Plans Cover 10 Non-EU Stops?Next guideβ†’Roaming Bill-Shock Safeguard Index: How 10 U.S. Carriers Warn or Stop Charges