Up to 18% off unlimited packagesSee unlimited offers
OpenSim™
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs

Loading page...

Download our app

Roam Smarter on AndroidFly Connected on iPhone
OpenSim™

getopensim.com

Explore

Country eSIMsRegional eSIMsMy eSIMs

Help

SupportResourceseSIM compatibilityPrivacy PolicyTerms & Conditions

Let's stay connected

WhatsApp support ↗[email protected]
© 2026 OpenSim™Previously Roaming eSIM. Same accounts. Same team.
OpenSim™
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs
Resources/eSIM Research/Travel eSIM Top-Up Index: Which Providers Let You Add Data Without Reinstalling?

Travel eSIM Top-Up Index: Which Providers Let You Add Data Without Reinstalling?

eSIM ResearchBy OpenSim research teamPublished August 5, 2026Updated August 13, 2026
Follow OpenSim

Add us to your preferred sources on Google.

Add to preferred sources↗
Eight of ten sampled providers clearly support adding data to an installed eSIM

Eight of the ten travel eSIM providers in this fixed sample clearly say that a traveler can add data, credits, or an add-on to the installed eSIM. That does not mean every plan from those providers is reloadable. Airalo, Nomad, MobiMatter, GigSky, and Roaming eSIM all describe some form of plan-dependent eligibility.

The second part of the study checks that distinction inside Roaming eSIM's live catalog. Across 222 destination choice sets, 2,608 of 2,842 listed package choices were marked top-up eligible. That is 91.8%. The remaining 234 were marked non-reloadable, and none had a missing eligibility value.

This is a study of published rules and current catalog data. It is not a connection-speed test, a completed-purchase test, or a claim that one provider is best for every trip.

Download the 222-destination CSV, download the ten-provider policy CSV, or open the complete JSON snapshot. Sources and catalog responses were checked on August 5, 2026.

Which top-up option fits your trip?

Your situationWhat to check before buying
You expect to use more data than plannedConfirm that the exact package is reloadable. A provider-level top-up feature does not make every package eligible.
You may run out away from Wi-FiCheck whether the provider keeps its purchase screen reachable at zero balance. Ubigi is the only provider in this sample whose checked source states that explicitly.
Your itinerary crosses bordersA top-up does not expand coverage. The installed eSIM or new package still needs to include every country on the route.
You want the same eSIM for a future tripCheck whether a new destination plan can attach to the installed profile and whether the profile itself has an expiry rule.
Your trip might be extendedCheck whether the top-up extends validity, starts a separate validity period, or requires a new package. The rules differ.
You do not want an automatic chargeLook for the renewal or Auto Top-Up setting and its trigger. Airalo, Saily and Roamless publish automatic options in this sample.
The exact plan is non-reloadableBuy enough data for the likely trip, or plan to buy another package. Non-reloadable does not mean unusable.

The provider finding: 8 of 10 sampled providers clearly support adding data to an installed eSIM. One provider's current public wording is unclear, and one publishes conflicting first-party instructions.

The Roaming eSIM finding: 91.8% of the 2,842 destination-package choices in the live catalog snapshot were marked top-up eligible. Every choice had an explicit eligibility value.

Explore the published catalog CSV

Check top-up eligibility across 222 destinations

Search a country or region, compare eligible and non-reloadable plan counts, and open the current Roaming eSIM product page before choosing a package.

Loading the 222-destination CSV...

Key findings from the provider and catalog audits

  • Eight of ten providers clearly support the installed eSIM. Their first-party wording says data, credits, or a separate add-on can attach to the existing, selected, current, or single eSIM or plan.
  • Five of the eight clear-support providers are plan-dependent. The sample does not support a general claim that every travel eSIM can be topped up.
  • Two providers publish an automatic option. Saily can renew a selected plan after complete depletion. Roamless can add wallet credits when the balance falls below its stated threshold.
  • Ubigi gives the clearest zero-balance access statement. Its first-party help page says the account can be topped up without Wi-Fi or a valid data plan.
  • Nomad gives the fullest add-on timing explanation. Its help pages describe the purchase window, automatic start, separate validity, non-rollover, and location restrictions.
  • Holafly's current first-party pages conflict. A dedicated FAQ says traditional top-ups are no longer available and a new profile is required. A newer general guide says same-destination top-up works before expiry without a new eSIM.
  • Roaming eSIM exposes package-level eligibility. Its public package endpoint returns a true or false supportsTopUp value for every listed package choice in this snapshot.
  • 2,608 of 2,842 Roaming eSIM package choices were eligible. The 91.8% result is based on destination-package observations, not unique underlying supplier packages.
  • Forty destinations showed only eligible choices. Another 180 showed a mix of eligible and non-reloadable choices. Two showed no eligible choice in the snapshot.
  • No eligibility value was missing. This means the catalog can distinguish “non-reloadable” from “unknown” instead of presenting both as the same result.

What does topping up a travel eSIM actually mean?

“Top up” is used for several different products. Treating them as one feature creates bad comparisons.

More data on the current plan

GigSky describes a top-up that adds data to the current plan. Its validity only changes when the duration of the new top-up runs later than the original expiry. This is the closest match to the everyday meaning of recharging a plan.

A separate add-on on the same eSIM

Nomad and MobiMatter describe a new data package that attaches to the existing eSIM. The old and new packages keep separate validity rules. Nomad says the add-on starts after the base plan is depleted or expires. MobiMatter says the new package attaches automatically.

A reusable wallet balance

Roamless FLEX is not a fixed-package refill. The traveler adds account credits that are deducted as data is used across supported destinations. Its FIX packages are separate destination bundles. Both can work on the same Roamless eSIM, but the wallet and bundle models should not be compared as if they were identical.

A subscription renewal

An automatic monthly renewal is not the same as an on-demand top-up. It can prevent a gap, but it also creates a recurring charge. The study records automatic options separately so a manual recharge is not confused with a subscription or wallet trigger.

A completely new eSIM profile

Buying another package does not always mean reusing the installed profile. A provider or operator may issue a new QR code and require a new installation. That creates a different failure path because the traveler needs an internet connection, a compatible unlocked phone, and access to the installation details.

The practical question is therefore not just “Can I top up?” It is: What is added, where is it added, when does it start, and does the phone need another eSIM profile?

Which providers clearly support same-profile top-ups?

First-party top-up policy results for ten travel eSIM providers

The sample is fixed rather than hand-picked after the results were known. It uses Roaming eSIM as the declared benchmark, then the first nine other apps returned by Apple's United States Search API for the exact query travel esim on the snapshot date. This is the same predeclared sample used in our Travel eSIM App Privacy Index.

ProviderInstalled eSIM resultAvailability modelWhat the first-party source tells the traveler
🏆 Roaming eSIMYesPlan-dependentThe app supports plan top-ups, and the public catalog gives every package an explicit top-up eligibility value.
AiraloYesPlan-dependentRechargeable eSIMs support manual top-up. Eligible plans can also use optional Renewals at the published low-data trigger.
eSim TravelUnclearUnclearThe current App Store description says additional data may be bought separately, but it does not say whether the installed profile receives it.
HolaflyConflictingConflictingA dedicated FAQ requires a new profile, while a newer general guide says same-destination top-up needs no new eSIM.
SailyYesProvider-wide in checked helpThe traveler selects an eSIM and uses Add data. An optional Auto Top-Up can renew a selected plan after complete depletion.
NomadYesPlan-dependentSupported plans accept an add-on on the same eSIM. It must be bought while the base plan is active.
UbigiYesProvider-wide in checked helpA plan is added to the existing account without another QR code, and the purchase path remains available at zero balance.
RoamlessYesWallet-basedFLEX credits and FIX plans work on the same single eSIM. Manual and automatic wallet top-ups are available.
MobiMatterYesPlan-dependentMost major operator partners support top-up. Unsupported operators require a new package and profile.
GigSkyYesPlan-dependentAn active supported plan shows Top Up, and the purchased data is added to the current plan.

This table does not score connection quality, price, or app usability. “Provider-wide in checked help” means the checked page gives a general path without naming a plan exception. It is not a guarantee that every product sold today behaves identically.

Roaming eSIM: package eligibility is visible in the catalog

Roaming eSIM's public pages tell travelers to top up an eligible plan, not every plan. The public package catalog supplies the evidence behind that wording. Each package response contains an explicit eligibility value, and the app is the published place to manage and top up plans.

That makes the honest decision simple: choose a package marked reloadable if adding data later matters. A non-reloadable package can still be bought and used normally, but it needs another package after its data or validity ends.

Airalo: rechargeable status must be checked by package

Airalo's top-up instructions say only rechargeable eSIMs qualify. The status is available in Additional information before purchase. If the Top up control is missing, the traveler needs a new eSIM.

Airalo also says the current package validity cannot be extended. That matters because adding data and extending time are separate needs.

Airalo now also documents optional Renewals. An eligible renewal buys the next plan when 10% of data remains and activates it when the current allowance reaches zero. This August 13 correction replaces the earlier automatic-top-up field of "Not stated" with "Yes" while keeping the manual top-up result unchanged.

eSim Travel: additional data is not a complete profile answer

The current App Store description says additional data may be purchased separately. It does not state whether that purchase attaches to the installed eSIM, creates another profile, starts automatically, or changes validity.

The correct classification is unclear. Inferring same-profile support would make the table cleaner, but it would not be supported by the checked wording.

Holafly: two current pages give opposite instructions

Holafly is the strongest example of why a source list needs dates and page-level evidence.

The dedicated Holafly top-up FAQ, updated June 12, 2026, says traditional top-ups are unavailable and an extended trip requires a new plan and profile. The broader How Does Holafly eSIM Work?, updated July 8, 2026, says a same-destination eSIM can be topped up before expiry without a new SIM.

We do not choose the newer page automatically because the dedicated FAQ is more specific. We also do not ignore the newer general guide. The public decision remains conflicting until Holafly reconciles the instructions or the exact checkout states which rule applies.

Saily: manual and automatic paths are documented

Saily's manual guide tells the traveler to select a specific eSIM, choose Add data, select a location and package, then complete the purchase. Its separate Auto Top-Up guide says the selected plan renews after its data is completely used.

Saily also warns that its website and top-up options are unavailable within Turkey. A traveler going there should buy and activate before entering the country.

Nomad: add-on timing and expiry are explicit

Nomad's add-on guide says the base plan must still be active when the add-on is bought. Some eSIMs do not support add-ons, and purchases are restricted while the user is in the UAE or India.

The add-on starts when the base data is used or the base plan expires. It is a separate package on the same eSIM. It does not extend the base validity, and unused base data does not roll into the add-on after expiry.

Ubigi: the purchase path can remain reachable at zero balance

Ubigi's recharge FAQ says a new data plan is added to the existing account without another QR code. It also says the account can be topped up without Wi-Fi or a valid data plan.

That is a useful distinction for a traveler who has already run out. Other sampled providers may have their own technical path, but their checked sources did not make the same zero-balance access statement.

Roamless: wallet credits and fixed plans share one eSIM

Roamless publishes two models. FLEX credits are a reusable, non-expiring balance for supported destinations. FIX is a destination package with its own data and validity. Its help center says both work on the same single eSIM.

The Auto Top Up setting applies to the FLEX credit balance. It charges the selected amount when the balance falls below the published threshold. A traveler who does not want automatic charges can keep it off and add funds manually.

MobiMatter: the operator determines eligibility

MobiMatter's help page says most major operator partners support top-up. The app path selects the existing eSIM. The web path requires the same operator and the correct order number.

The top-up is a new package with its own validity. It does not extend the original package. If the operator is unsupported, the traveler needs a new package and profile.

GigSky: top-up duration may change the expiry date

GigSky's help page says an eligible active plan displays Top Up in the app. The additional data is added to the current plan.

Its time rule is conditional. A seven-day top-up will not extend an original plan that already has more than seven days left. It can extend the expiry when its own duration runs later than the original end date.

How reloadable is the live Roaming eSIM catalog?

Roaming eSIM top-up eligibility across 222 destination choice sets

The provider table answers whether a top-up model exists. The catalog audit answers a different question: How often does the traveler actually see an eligible Roaming eSIM package for a destination?

Catalog resultDestination choice setsPackage choices
Every listed package is top-up eligible40Included in the 2,608 eligible total
Mix of eligible and non-reloadable packages180Both types available
No listed package is top-up eligible26 non-reloadable choices
Missing eligibility value00
All destination choice sets2222,842

The two choice sets with no eligible package were AUKUS (3 countries) and Kosovo at the snapshot time. This does not make their packages invalid. It means a traveler choosing one of those listed packages could not rely on a later top-up and would need another package if more data were required.

Why 2,842 is not a count of unique plans

The catalog endpoint returns the packages available for each destination. A regional or global plan may appear in several destination responses. The study therefore calls each row a destination-package choice and does not claim that 2,842 unique supplier packages exist.

That denominator matches the traveler-facing decision. Someone searching Japan sees the package set for Japan. Someone searching Europe sees the Europe set. The same underlying regional plan can be a relevant choice in both places.

Why zero missing values matters

A missing field would make “not reloadable” and “not checked” difficult to separate. In this snapshot, every package response returned supportsTopUp as true or false. The dataset preserves both outcomes and does not replace false values with a marketing claim.

🏆 Roaming eSIM's measurable edge is plan-level clarity. The public catalog did not leave top-up eligibility unknown for any of the 2,842 package choices checked, and 91.8% were marked eligible.

The result does not mean Roaming eSIM wins every comparison. Ubigi gives a stronger published zero-balance access statement. Nomad gives more detailed public timing rules. Saily and Roamless publish automatic options. The study remains useful because those findings are kept, even where another provider gives the clearer answer.

Why this study is more useful than a provider round-up

The ranking pages in this search cluster usually put “Top-up: Yes” in a broad feature matrix. That is quick to read, but it leaves out the questions that decide whether the feature will work during a trip:

  • Does the exact plan qualify?
  • Does the purchase attach to the installed profile?
  • Can the traveler buy before or after the base plan ends?
  • Does the add-on start immediately or wait?
  • Does it extend validity?
  • Does unused data roll over?
  • Can the purchase be made in the destination?
  • Is Wi-Fi needed after the original data is gone?

This study publishes those fields, the first-party URLs, a snapshot time, normalized policy checksums, a full catalog CSV, and response checksums. A reader can inspect the classification and rerun the catalog count instead of accepting a generic badge.

Roaming eSIM also publishes practical service facts that a news-style comparison cannot verify from a price table. The current app listing describes in-app plan management, renewals, top-ups, real-time usage tracking, and 24/7 support. The live site provides WhatsApp support and current plan pages. Those features do not change the research result, but they give the traveler a clear next step if the package status is uncertain.

What should you check before relying on a top-up?

1. Confirm the exact plan, not just the provider

Start with the package card or checkout details. Look for reloadable, rechargeable, add-on, Top Up, or an equivalent status. If the provider sells plans from several operators, the operator can determine eligibility.

For Roaming eSIM, choose a package marked top-up eligible. The catalog shows that most choices qualify, but 234 in this snapshot do not.

2. Save the purchase route while you still have data

Install the provider app, sign in, and save the web account link before leaving. If a destination restricts the provider's site or app, purchase the add-on before entry when the policy says to do so.

Do not assume a top-up screen will load after the data balance reaches zero. Ubigi explicitly says its path remains accessible. For every other provider, keep a fallback connection available unless the current source says otherwise.

3. Check whether the top-up changes time, data, or both

A top-up can add data without extending the current validity. It can also create a new package whose own clock starts later. Read both the allowance and the expiry date on the confirmation screen.

Nomad and MobiMatter publish separate-package rules. GigSky publishes a conditional extension rule. Airalo says the current package validity cannot be extended.

4. Compare the top-up with another package

The convenience of keeping one profile does not prove that the add-on is the cheapest choice. Compare the smallest useful top-up, its validity, and its coverage with a new local or regional package.

This study does not name a price winner because top-up offers can be account-specific, plan-specific, and visible only after purchase. A reproducible price study would need the same allowance, validity, taxes, currency, and timestamp across providers.

5. Keep the installed profile until the trip is finished

Deleting an eSIM can remove the thing the add-on is meant to use. Some activation codes are single-use. Contact support before deleting a profile that still has an active plan, a pending add-on, or a possible top-up.

6. Keep a backup for maps, tickets, and support

Download offline maps, save tickets and booking details, and keep the provider's support route available. A reloadable plan reduces setup work, but it does not replace coverage checks or a basic offline fallback.

Ten questions travelers ask about travel eSIM top-ups

Public Reddit discussions were used to identify these questions. Reddit was not used to classify provider features. Every provider answer below comes from the first-party sources in the dataset.

Can I top up a travel eSIM without reinstalling it?

Often, but not always. Eight of the ten sampled providers clearly support adding data, credits, or an add-on to an installed eSIM. One is unclear, and Holafly's checked pages conflict. Check the exact provider and plan.

Does every plan from a top-up provider qualify?

No. Airalo, Nomad, MobiMatter, GigSky, and Roaming eSIM all have plan-dependent language or data. In the Roaming eSIM snapshot, 234 of 2,842 destination-package choices were non-reloadable.

Can I buy more data after my original data is completely used?

It depends on the provider and plan. Ubigi says its account remains reachable without Wi-Fi or a valid plan. Airalo says many top-ups can activate after data is used or a plan expires. Nomad requires the add-on purchase while the base plan is still active.

Do I need Wi-Fi to top up after running out?

Assume you may need another connection unless the provider says otherwise. Ubigi is the only provider in this sample whose checked source explicitly says the top-up path works without Wi-Fi or valid data.

Does a top-up extend the validity period?

There is no common rule. Airalo says the current validity cannot be extended. Nomad and MobiMatter use a separate package with its own validity. GigSky extends the end date only when the top-up duration runs later than the original expiry.

Does unused data roll into the new package?

Do not assume it does. Airalo says unused data expires with the package. Nomad says remaining base data does not carry into an add-on after expiry. Holafly says unused data is lost when its plan ends.

Which providers in the sample offer automatic top-up?

Airalo, Saily and Roamless publish automatic options. Their triggers differ. Airalo buys the next eligible plan at 10% remaining and activates it at zero. Saily renews the selected plan after complete depletion. Roamless adds wallet credit after the balance falls below its published threshold.

Can I reuse the same eSIM on a later trip?

Some providers support a long-lived or single profile, but the package and profile are separate things. Check whether the provider lets a new destination package attach to the installed profile and whether the profile expires after inactivity.

Can I top up for a different country?

A top-up does not automatically change coverage. A regional plan can keep working inside its listed countries. A single-country package does not become regional because data was added. Wallet models can work differently, so check the supported destination and current rate.

Is topping up cheaper than buying another eSIM?

Not necessarily. The add-on can be cheaper, equal, or more expensive for the data and time you need. Compare the live checkout rather than paying for the convenience without checking. This study does not invent a price result where a comparable public offer is unavailable.

Methodology and reproducibility

Provider sample

Roaming eSIM was declared as the benchmark. The other nine providers are the first nine apps returned by Apple's United States Search API for travel esim on August 5, 2026. The sample order was fixed before the top-up policies were classified.

The providers are Roaming eSIM, Airalo, eSim Travel, Holafly, Saily, Nomad, Ubigi, Roamless, MobiMatter, and GigSky.

Source hierarchy

Provider conclusions use current first-party help centers, product pages, public catalog responses, and app-store records. Search snippets, Reddit replies, affiliate pages, and news round-ups were not used to determine whether a provider supports top-up.

Clear-support rule

A provider receives Yes only when a checked first-party source says that data, credits, or an add-on can attach to an existing, selected, current, or single eSIM or plan without a separate installation.

Unclear means the source allows another data purchase but does not answer the profile question. Conflicting means current first-party pages give incompatible instructions. No missing answer is converted to Yes.

Roaming eSIM catalog census

The generator fetched every live destination from the public /api/agent/destinations endpoint. It then fetched the public package set for each location and counted supportsTopUp as true, false, or missing.

The audit found:

  • 222 destination choice sets
  • 2,842 destination-package observations
  • 2,608 top-up eligible observations
  • 234 non-reloadable observations
  • 0 missing eligibility values

The percentage is 2,608 / 2,842 x 100 = 91.8%, rounded to one decimal place.

Endpoint timing and count differences

The directory endpoint and package endpoint are live systems fetched minutes apart. Malaysia's directory count was one lower than its package response, and Thailand's was one higher. The dataset keeps both values. All study totals use the actual packages returned by the package endpoint because those rows carry the eligibility field.

Checksums and files

Each provider row has a SHA-256 hash of its normalized policy fields and source list. Each destination row has a SHA-256 hash derived from the public plan identifiers and eligibility values returned for that destination. Public plan identifiers are used to create the checksum but are not published in the dataset.

The reproducible files are:

  • Destination catalog CSV
  • Provider policy CSV
  • Complete JSON dataset
  • Normalized source: scripts/research/data/travel-esim-top-up-index-source.json
  • Generator: scripts/research/generate-travel-esim-top-up-index.mjs
  • Refresh command: node scripts/research/generate-travel-esim-top-up-index.mjs --refresh-live

What this study does not prove

  • It does not prove that a top-up purchase will succeed for every account, payment method, country, phone, or package.
  • It does not test app speed, connection speed, latency, network coverage, support response time, or checkout usability.
  • It does not compare top-up prices because equivalent public offers were not available for every provider and plan.
  • It does not treat a provider-wide support page as proof that every individual package qualifies.
  • It does not treat a missing public statement as proof that a feature is absent.
  • It does not count destination-package observations as unique underlying supplier plans.
  • It does not use Reddit comments as provider-policy evidence or as a representative survey.

The findings will change when providers revise help pages or catalog products. That is expected. The study remains valid if a future snapshot lowers Roaming eSIM's eligible share or gives another provider the clearer policy. The rule and data, not the preferred result, decide the conclusion.

How to choose a reloadable Roaming eSIM plan

Roaming eSIM publishes this research and sells the plans in the catalog audit. The product links below are shopping links, not independent rankings.

Use a Global Roaming eSIM when the exact country list fits a broad itinerary. A Europe Roaming eSIM, North America Roaming eSIM, or Asia Roaming eSIM can be more focused for a regional trip.

Before checkout, compare coverage, data, validity, start timing, hotspot rules, and top-up eligibility. If the chosen package is non-reloadable, size it for the likely trip or be ready to buy another package. If it is reloadable, keep the profile installed and use the app to monitor and manage the plan.

For related decisions, read when to install an eSIM before travel, travel eSIM versus international roaming, and the Travel eSIM App Privacy Index.

Corrections and update policy

This is a dated snapshot, not a permanent promise about any provider. If a first-party page changes, a source conflict is resolved, or a catalog refresh changes the counts, the dataset and article should be updated together.

To report a source change, send the provider, exact URL, page wording, and check date through Roaming eSIM support. We will preserve the method, rerun the generator, update the snapshot date, and change the finding when the evidence changes.

Plans for trips where you may need more data

Compare global, regional, and country OpenSim eSIM plans

Choose coverage that matches the countries on your route, then compare data, validity, activation, and hotspot terms.

Global plan

Global (120+ areas) eSIM

★★★★★5.015 reviews

120+ destination coverage from $8.9

View plans
Regional plan

Europe eSIM

★★★★★5.015 reviews

41-destination coverage from $3.2

View plans
Regional plan

North America eSIM

★★★★★5.013 reviews

3-destination coverage from $2.3

View plans
Regional plan

Asia (20 areas) eSIM

★★★★★5.011 reviews

20-destination coverage from $3.2

View plans

Keep reading

More in esim research

View category
←Previous guideEuropean Train Wi-Fi Transparency Index: What 12 Operators Tell You Before BoardingNext guide→Travel eSIM Support Access Index: What 10 Providers Publish Before You Buy