Up to 18% off unlimited packagesSee unlimited offers
OpenSim™
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs

Loading page...

Download our app

Roam Smarter on AndroidFly Connected on iPhone
OpenSim™

getopensim.com

Explore

Country eSIMsRegional eSIMsMy eSIMs

Help

SupportResourceseSIM compatibilityPrivacy PolicyTerms & Conditions

Let's stay connected

WhatsApp support ↗[email protected]
© 2026 OpenSim™Previously Roaming eSIM. Same accounts. Same team.
OpenSim™
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs
Resources/Travel connectivity news/AkwaabaSIM Brings a Ghana-Branded Travel eSIM Store Online

AkwaabaSIM brings a Ghana-branded travel eSIM store online

Travel connectivity newsBy OpenSim editorial teamPublished August 25, 2026Updated August 25, 2026
Follow OpenSim

Add us to your preferred sources on Google.

Add to preferred sources↗
Traveler arriving in Ghana with a phone ready for a travel eSIM

August 25, 2026. Ghanaian international operator We 2 Stars has launched AkwaabaSIM with BTS and ZIM Connections, giving travelers a locally branded store for buying data before a trip to Ghana or abroad.

The service is live, but the branding needs a little unpacking. AkwaabaSIM is not a new Ghana mobile network. Its storefront runs on ZIM Connections' travel eSIM platform, while the Ghana plans currently list Airtel as the network provider. For a visitor, the useful question is therefore not whether AkwaabaSIM is “local” or “global.” It is whether a specific plan has the right allowance, validity, speed policy and support for the trip.

The traveler decision: AkwaabaSIM has a competitive US$2.50 entry plan and several low-cost unlimited options. A Roaming eSIM provides a broader set of daily allowance choices, clearly surfaced 3G/4G fields and a public 24/7 support route. Compare the exact card rather than choosing on the launch label alone.

What AkwaabaSIM actually launched

The June 9 announcement describes AkwaabaSIM as the first travel eSIM service of its kind launched by an operator in Ghana. We 2 Stars supplies the Ghanaian brand and retail entry, BTS supported the launch, and ZIM Connections supplies the digital platform.

That makes AkwaabaSIM a branded travel marketplace. It serves three groups:

  • visitors who want data in Ghana;
  • Ghana residents who want travel data abroad;
  • travelers buying plans for other supported destinations.

The distinction matters because “Ghana's first” does not mean the product owns new towers, creates a new nationwide network or replaces local operators. For Ghana plans, the public catalog currently names Airtel. Coverage still depends on that network, the selected plan, the phone and the place where it is used.

Current AkwaabaSIM Ghana prices and plan limits

The public AkwaabaSIM catalog returned six fixed-data plans and seven unlimited plans at 10:55 UTC on August 25. These are live storefront fields and can change.

AkwaabaSIM Ghana planPriceValidityPublished network and feature fields
1GBUS$2.507 daysAirtel, 3G, hotspot, top-up
2GBUS$4.0015 daysAirtel, 3G, hotspot, top-up
3GBUS$6.0030 daysAirtel, 3G, hotspot, top-up
5GBUS$9.5030 daysAirtel, 3G, hotspot, top-up
10GBUS$18.0030 daysAirtel, 3G, hotspot, top-up
20GBUS$35.0030 daysAirtel, 3G, hotspot, top-up

The unlimited range costs US$3.50 for one day, US$8.50 for three days, US$13.50 for five days, US$19 for seven days, US$26.50 for ten days, US$39.50 for 15 days and US$78 for 30 days.

There is an important limit behind the word “unlimited.” Each plan supplies about 1.46GB of unthrottled data per day, then reduces speed to 1Mbps for the remainder of that daily period. The allowance refreshes daily. That can keep messaging and light browsing usable, but it is not the same as unrestricted full-speed video or laptop work all day.

Useful detail missing from most launch reports: AkwaabaSIM's public catalog marks hotspot support on both fixed and unlimited Ghana plans. Its unlimited cards do not show the top-up feature that appears on the fixed plans.

AkwaabaSIM uses Airtel in Ghana, not a new We 2 Stars network

Every checked Ghana card lists Airtel and a 3G network feature. Travelers should not translate the launch announcement into a promise of 4G or 5G service. The network field available at checkout should control, and actual reception varies by location and congestion.

This is especially important beyond central Accra. Before relying on the plan for a road trip, remote accommodation or work call, ask the seller whether the current partner and speed match the exact route. Download an offline map and keep essential addresses outside cloud-only apps.

AkwaabaSIM is also data-only: the catalog has no call or SMS allowance. WhatsApp, Signal, FaceTime and other internet services can use the data connection, but the plan does not supply a Ghanaian telephone number for ordinary calls, local bookings or verification messages.

Our calls and SMS guide explains how a data-only line can work beside a home SIM. Keep the home line active only if you understand its roaming charges, and set the travel line as the phone's mobile-data source.

Is AkwaabaSIM the same as a local Ghana SIM or eSIM?

No. A travel eSIM and a locally registered Ghana mobile service solve different problems.

AkwaabaSIM can be purchased online before departure and is aimed at quick data access. A local Ghana SIM or carrier eSIM can include a Ghanaian number and local calling, but registration requirements and the purchase process apply. Our Ghana SIM registration guide covers the current visitor documents and registration decision separately.

Choose a travel plan when arrival data, maps and app messaging matter more than having a local number. Consider a local service for a longer stay when Ghana calls, SMS or local-number verification are essential. A travel eSIM does not bypass local app rules or create a telephone number when the plan is sold as data-only.

The announced discount code has no published end date

The launch announcement lists AKWAABA1 for a 10% discount. It does not state an expiry date. That is not enough to promise the code will work indefinitely.

Treat the checkout total as the current price. Confirm the destination, allowance, validity and currency before paying, then save the receipt and installation details. Do not choose a larger plan solely because an old launch code appears in an article or social post.

The checked storefront is a JavaScript application. Its initial public page source does not expose a clear refund policy, support response time or activation-clock explanation alongside the plan list. Those gaps do not prove unfavorable terms, but they do mean a traveler should resolve them before purchase rather than assuming the usual practice of another ZIM-powered or travel eSIM store applies.

Questions to settle before buying AkwaabaSIM

Ask AkwaabaSIM support or confirm in the checkout flow:

  1. Does validity begin at installation, first network connection or manual activation?
  2. Can an installed profile move to a replacement phone?
  3. What refund applies if the profile is unused but cannot be installed?
  4. Is a fixed-data plan top-up added to the same profile?
  5. Does an unlimited daily allowance reset on Ghana time or another time zone?
  6. Is the Airtel network field unchanged for the exact plan being purchased?
  7. What support channel is staffed during the arrival time?

Install while reliable Wi-Fi is available, but only after confirming the clock rule. Check that the phone is eSIM-compatible and carrier-unlocked. Our compatibility guide and installation timing guide cover those checks.

AkwaabaSIM versus Roaming eSIM for Ghana

The two catalogs overlap, so no single provider wins every allowance.

Traveler decisionAkwaabaSIMRoaming eSIM advantage
Lowest checked Ghana price1GB/7 days at US$2.50Catalog starts at US$2.44 for a 500MB daily plan
1GB for a short tripUS$2.50 for 7 daysUS$3.50 for 7 days
Fixed-data range1GB to 20GB1GB to 20GB, plus a 3GB/15-day option
Daily choicesUnlimited plans with about 1.46GB full speed, then 1Mbps500MB, 1GB, 2GB, 3GB and 10GB daily allowance shapes with the card's stated reduced speed
Published Ghana networkAirtel, 3GAirtelTigo, with 3G/4G catalog fields and 3G operator field
HotspotMarked on current Ghana cardsCheck the selected package terms before purchase
Calls and SMSNo included allowanceMost plans are also data-only; select by the exact card
SupportResolve the live channel and hours before payingPublic 24/7 email and WhatsApp support routes

🏆 Roaming eSIM wins on plan visibility and traveler support: its live cards expose allowance type, validity, speed, reduced-speed policy and top-up status before checkout, backed by a public 24/7 support route. AkwaabaSIM wins the checked 1GB/7-day price and offers inexpensive unlimited periods, so price-sensitive travelers should compare both live carts.

Current Roaming eSIM alternatives for Ghana

At 10:57 UTC on August 25, the public Roaming eSIM catalog returned 11 Ghana plans starting at US$2.44. Ten were marked top-up eligible. The listed catalog speed was 3G/4G, with AirtelTigo named as the operator and 3G as its network type. Those are current inventory fields, not a guarantee of a particular speed at every location.

ItineraryPlan pageWhy compare it
Ghana onlyGhana Roaming eSIMCompare fixed and daily allowances, validity, reduced-speed policy and top-up status
Ghana plus African destinationsAfrica Roaming eSIMUse only when every planned country appears on the selected card
Ghana within an intercontinental tripGlobal 120 areas Roaming eSIMCheck the exact coverage list before choosing one profile for several regions

The bottom product area is limited to these three route-matched cards. A regional name is not proof that a particular plan covers Ghana or another stop.

Ten questions travelers ask about AkwaabaSIM and Ghana eSIMs

Is AkwaabaSIM a Ghana mobile network?

No. It is a We 2 Stars-branded travel eSIM storefront powered by ZIM Connections. The current Ghana plans list Airtel as the network provider.

Is AkwaabaSIM live now?

Yes. Its store and Ghana catalog were live when checked on August 25, 2026.

How much does an AkwaabaSIM Ghana plan cost?

The checked fixed plans ranged from US$2.50 for 1GB/7 days to US$35 for 20GB/30 days. Unlimited periods ranged from US$3.50 for one day to US$78 for 30 days.

Are AkwaabaSIM unlimited plans full speed all day?

No. The catalog states about 1.46GB unthrottled per day, followed by 1Mbps until the daily refresh.

Can I use hotspot with AkwaabaSIM in Ghana?

The current Ghana cards include a hotspot feature. Device settings, network conditions and the selected plan still apply.

Does AkwaabaSIM include a Ghanaian phone number?

The checked cards are data-only and show no call or SMS allowance. Do not buy one expecting a local number.

Can I top up an AkwaabaSIM Ghana plan?

The fixed-data cards are marked for top-up. The unlimited cards are not. Confirm that the live card still shows the feature before purchase.

When does AkwaabaSIM validity begin?

The checked public plan page did not state the clock rule clearly. Confirm it before installing or activating the profile.

Does the AKWAABA1 discount code still work?

The launch announcement lists a 10% code but gives no end date. Test it at checkout and rely on the final total rather than assuming it remains active.

Is AkwaabaSIM or Roaming eSIM better for Ghana?

AkwaabaSIM currently has the lower 1GB/7-day price and several unlimited periods. Roaming eSIM offers more daily allowance shapes, clearer card-level speed fields and a public 24/7 support route. The best choice depends on the data pattern and trip length.

Sources and updates

The launch date, partners, positioning and discount code come from BTS's first-party announcement. The live AkwaabaSIM plan API supplied the Ghana prices, Airtel network, 3G, hotspot, top-up and unlimited throttling fields. The Roaming eSIM comparison uses its public package endpoint checked at the time stated above.

Most repeat the launch release.

Update this page when AkwaabaSIM changes its Ghana prices, network, speed, allowance, hotspot, top-up, activation, support, refund or discount-code terms.

Roaming eSIM alternatives for Ghana trips

Compare global, regional, and country OpenSim eSIM plans

Choose coverage that matches the countries on your route, then compare data, validity, activation, and hotspot terms.

Ghana plan

Ghana eSIM

★★★★★No reviews yet

Ghana-only data plans from $2.44

View plans
Regional plan

Africa eSIM

★★★★★No reviews yet

29-destination coverage from $11.4

View plans
Global plan

Global (120+ areas) eSIM

★★★★★5.015 reviews

120+ destination coverage from $8.9

View plans

Keep reading

More in travel connectivity news

View category
←Previous guideEU Opens Western Balkans Roaming Talks, but No Start Date Is SetNext guide→AILA Offers Arrivals 24 Hours of Free eSIM Data