Up to 18% off unlimited packagesSee unlimited offers
OpenSim™
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs

Loading page...

Download our app

Roam Smarter on AndroidFly Connected on iPhone
OpenSim™

getopensim.com

Explore

Country eSIMsRegional eSIMsMy eSIMs

Help

SupportResourceseSIM compatibilityPrivacy PolicyTerms & Conditions

Let's stay connected

WhatsApp support ↗[email protected]
© 2026 OpenSim™Previously Roaming eSIM. Same accounts. Same team.
OpenSim™
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs
Resources/Travel connectivity news/KB Kookmin Bank Free eSIM: 1GB Exchange Offer

KB Kookmin Bank offers 1GB eSIM data with online currency exchange

Travel connectivity newsBy OpenSim editorial teamPublished August 15, 2026Updated August 15, 2026
Follow OpenSim

Add us to your preferred sources on Google.

Add to preferred sources↗
Traveler at an airport beside the verified KB Kookmin Bank online exchange and 1GB eSIM offer facts

KB Kookmin Bank has started giving 1GB of global eSIM data to eligible customers who exchange at least the equivalent of US$100 through KB Star Banking or internet banking. The offer opened on August 14, 2026, and runs through September 30, subject to a limit of 50,000 customers and possible early exhaustion.

The headline needs an important qualifier. This is not a free eSIM for visitors arriving in South Korea, nor is it open to anyone exchanging cash at a branch. KB's official terms restrict the event to individual customers who are both Korean nationals and residents, complete a qualifying online exchange, and redeem a coupon in a second app.

The traveler takeaway: the free 1GB is worth claiming when every condition fits. It is a small arrival allowance, not a disclosed full-trip plan. Check the destination, validity and phone support inside The Lounge before relying on it abroad.

What did KB Kookmin Bank launch?

KB announced the event on August 13 and opened it the following day. Its official event page gives the details that matter at the point of travel.

Offer termVerified detail
Event datesAugust 14 to September 30, 2026
Qualifying exchangeAt least US$100 equivalent, converted entirely from Korean won to foreign currency
Eligible channelKB Star Banking or KB internet banking
Benefit1GB of data described by KB as a global eSIM
AvailabilityFirst 50,000 eligible customers; may finish early
Customer limitOne benefit per customer during the event
RedemptionCoupon from KB Star Banking, entered in Ebridge's The Lounge app
Claim deadlineKB says registration and loading of the eSIM benefit must be completed by September 30

This is a promotion attached to a foreign-exchange transaction. It is not the same model as an in-app travel eSIM store such as Santander's Spain service or Starling Bank's travel eSIM, where eligible account holders choose and pay for a data plan. KB is supplying one fixed allowance through a partner app.

Who qualifies for the KB free eSIM?

KB's Korean terms are narrower than the phrase “currency-exchange customers” suggests. A customer must satisfy all of these conditions:

  • Be an individual customer who is a Korean national and resident;
  • Apply during the event through KB Star Banking or internet banking;
  • Exchange at least the equivalent of US$100;
  • Convert the full qualifying amount from Korean won into foreign currency;
  • Reach the offer before the 50,000-customer allocation is exhausted; and
  • Have no earlier benefit redemption during the event.

KB expressly excludes non-login currency exchange, KB Foreign Currency Money Box transactions and foreign-currency gifting. An exchange at a branch is not among the qualifying channels listed for this event.

That means a foreign tourist, nonresident, cash customer or traveler using one of the excluded exchange tools should not expect a coupon. If the benefit does not appear, check the transaction channel and eligibility before troubleshooting the eSIM itself.

How to redeem the KB Star Banking eSIM coupon

Four-step graphic showing the online exchange, KB benefits page, coupon and The Lounge app redemption path

The benefit crosses two services. KB decides whether the exchange qualifies; Ebridge supplies the eSIM through The Lounge.

  1. Exchange at least US$100 equivalent through KB Star Banking or internet banking.
  2. In KB Star Banking, open Exchange > Exchange Inquiry/Management > Benefits for Exchange Customers and select the global eSIM benefit banner.
  3. Copy the coupon number shown on the benefit page.
  4. Open Ebridge's The Lounge app, find the KB Kookmin Bank foreign-exchange benefit and enter the coupon.

The Ebridge website identifies global eSIM as one of its businesses, and the current The Lounge App Store listing mentions improvements to its global eSIM feature. KB directs service questions after coupon entry to The Lounge's KakaoTalk support route.

Do not wait until departure day to discover that the coupon, app or phone is incompatible. Install on reliable Wi-Fi, keep the coupon confirmation, and test only in the way The Lounge instructs. The eSIM installation timing guide explains why adding a profile and starting its travel validity are not always the same event.

What KB's public page does not tell travelers

“Global eSIM” is a product label, not a complete coverage promise. KB's public event page does not publish:

  • The included country list;
  • Partner mobile networks by destination;
  • How long the 1GB remains valid after activation;
  • Whether validity starts at installation, first network connection or another event;
  • Whether hotspot or tethering is allowed;
  • Whether the plan includes a phone number, calls or SMS;
  • The supported speed or any reduced-speed behavior after 1GB;
  • A top-up price or extension path; or
  • The list of compatible devices.

Those are not reasons to reject a genuinely free benefit. They are reasons to inspect the exact offer screen before making it the only connection plan. Save screenshots of the destination, allowance, validity and activation wording shown during redemption. If a field is not disclosed, ask The Lounge rather than inferring it from the word “global.”

The phone compatibility guide covers the device check. Our calls and SMS guide explains why a data allowance alone does not prove that standard voice service or a local number is included.

How far can 1GB take you on a trip?

One gigabyte can cover arrival tasks when the phone is kept lean: messaging, checking a hotel booking, loading a transit route, ordering a ride and using light web pages. It can disappear quickly with video, cloud photo backup, automatic updates, video calls or laptop tethering.

Use the travel data calculator for the actual itinerary. Before departure, download offline maps, tickets, translations and accommodation details over Wi-Fi. Turn off cellular photo backup and app updates. These steps make the free allowance more useful without pretending it is larger than it is.

For a multi-week trip, remote work, streaming or several travelers sharing data, 1GB is usually an arrival buffer rather than a full plan. The unknown public validity also matters: a small allowance that expires early may not cover the whole trip even if data remains.

KB free eSIM or Roaming eSIM: which fits the trip?

The right answer depends on eligibility and the journey, not the word “free.”

Travel situationBetter starting pointWhy
Qualifying KB customer who needs light arrival dataKB promotional eSIMA valid 1GB allowance costs nothing
Customer outside KB's nationality, residence or exchange rulesRoaming eSIMPurchase is not tied to a Korean bank account or currency-exchange event
Destination or validity not confirmed in The LoungeConfirm first, then compare“Global” does not disclose the exact country or duration
Longer trip or heavier useDestination or regional Roaming eSIMChoose a visible allowance and validity for the itinerary
Several countriesRegional or Global Roaming eSIMMatch every stop on the exact product card rather than assuming coverage
Native calls, SMS or a local number requiredA package that explicitly includes themNeither a 1GB label nor a data-only Roaming eSIM creates voice service

🏆 KB's offer wins when the traveler qualifies and the free 1GB fits. Paying for the same arrival need would make little sense.

🏆 Roaming eSIM wins for independent plan choice. It does not require a KB account, US$100 exchange or first-come coupon. The live cards disclose the allowance, validity and plan scope before checkout, and Roaming eSIM provides 24/7 support for the plans it sells.

Start with a Global Roaming eSIM for a widely distributed itinerary, an Asia Roaming eSIM, a Europe Roaming eSIM or a North America Roaming eSIM. A regional label is not proof that every stop is included; check the country list on the exact card. The country versus regional eSIM guide helps with that decision.

Ten questions travelers are asking about free 1GB eSIM offers

1. Can any KB Kookmin Bank customer claim the 1GB?

No. KB limits the event to qualifying individual customers who are Korean nationals and residents. The exchange method, amount, dates, allocation and one-per-customer rule also apply.

2. Does an exchange at a KB branch qualify?

The event page lists KB Star Banking and internet banking, not branch exchange. It also excludes non-login exchange, KB Foreign Currency Money Box and foreign-currency gifting.

3. Is the 1GB offer available immediately after the exchange?

Eligible customers must open the exchange-customer benefits page in KB Star Banking and obtain the coupon. The benefit is then redeemed separately in The Lounge app.

4. Which countries does the KB eSIM cover?

KB calls it global but does not publish a country list on the public event page. Confirm the destination in The Lounge before treating the allowance as usable for the trip.

5. How long is the 1GB valid?

The public terms give a September 30 deadline for registration and loading, but do not state the travel-validity period after activation. Read the redeemed plan terms or ask The Lounge.

6. Can the eSIM be installed before departure?

It should be installed only according to The Lounge's instructions. Installation often can happen before travel, but the public KB page does not define the activation trigger for this benefit.

7. Does it include calls, SMS or a Korean number?

KB promises 1GB of data and does not promise a number, calls or SMS. Treat it as data-only unless the exact plan screen says otherwise.

8. Can the 1GB be shared by hotspot?

KB's public event terms do not state a tethering rule. A fixed data allowance is not proof that hotspot use is allowed.

9. What happens after the 1GB runs out?

The public event page does not publish reduced speed, a top-up path or price. Plan a second connection before the allowance is exhausted if the trip needs more data.

10. Why is the coupon missing?

First check nationality and residence eligibility, the online channel, the US$100-equivalent threshold, full won-to-foreign-currency conversion, excluded transaction types, prior redemption and whether the 50,000 benefits remain. KB handles exchange eligibility; The Lounge handles the issued eSIM benefit.

A practical plan before relying on the benefit

  1. Confirm the exchange transaction meets every KB condition.
  2. Claim and load the coupon before September 30 and before the allocation is exhausted.
  3. Check the exact destination, validity, activation trigger and phone compatibility in The Lounge.
  4. Confirm calls, SMS and hotspot only if the redeemed plan explicitly includes them.
  5. Install on stable Wi-Fi and save the coupon, eSIM and support details offline.
  6. Keep the home line's data roaming off unless the home carrier's terms say otherwise.
  7. Arrange a full-trip Roaming eSIM when 1GB or the disclosed coverage does not fit.

Sources and updates

We read KB Kookmin Bank's live Korean event page on August 15, including the eligibility, transaction, exclusion, redemption, quantity and deadline terms. We compared it with the August 13 DigitalToday report and the August 14 IT Times report, then checked Ebridge and The Lounge's public pages to confirm the provider and app relationship.

The leading news reports accurately state the dates, US$100 threshold, 50,000-customer limit and coupon handoff. They do not surface all of KB's exclusions or resolve the missing destination, validity, activation, network, voice and hotspot fields. We preserve those unknowns rather than filling them with terms from a different Ebridge or partner offer.

No existing Roaming eSIM resource owns this bank-specific promotion. The Korean Air, Santander and Starling pages remain separate because their booking, account, purchase and benefit rules answer different searches.

Update policy: We will update this page if KB changes the dates, allocation, customer or transaction rules; if the benefit ends early; or if The Lounge publishes a country list, validity, activation, network, call, SMS, hotspot, top-up or support change for this exact coupon.

Roaming eSIM plans without bank or currency-exchange eligibility

Compare global, regional, and country OpenSim eSIM plans

Choose coverage that matches the countries on your route, then compare data, validity, activation, and hotspot terms.

Global plan

Global (120+ areas) eSIM

★★★★★5.015 reviews

120+ destination coverage from $8.9

View plans
Regional plan

Asia (20 areas) eSIM

★★★★★5.011 reviews

20-destination coverage from $3.2

View plans
Regional plan

Europe eSIM

★★★★★5.015 reviews

41-destination coverage from $3.2

View plans
Regional plan

North America eSIM

★★★★★5.013 reviews

3-destination coverage from $2.3

View plans

Keep reading

More in travel connectivity news

View category
←Previous guideMalaysia SIM Registration for Tourists: 2026 RulesNext guide→Egypt Phone Registration: 90-Day Tourist SIM Rule