Remitly details a 3GB travel eSIM for Global Card members

Remitly published fuller terms for its Global Card travel eSIM on September 10, 2026. The benefit gives eligible card members 3GB of mobile data to use over 12 months, with a company-stated reach of more than 160 countries.
This is not a new standalone eSIM shop. Remitly first announced the benefit with the Global Card on July 30. Access currently requires an invitation, an active paid Global Card Monthly Plan membership, and an unlocked phone that supports eSIM.
The traveler answer: The included 3GB could cover light data use for an eligible member who already wants the paid card plan. Travelers who are not invited, need more data, or want to see price and validity before joining a financial membership can buy a standalone Roaming eSIM plan instead.
What Remitly confirmed about the travel eSIM
Remitly says the benefit includes 3GB that remains available for 12 months and renews annually with an active membership. The company also says members can top up from their phone if they use the allowance.
The profile is provided by Gigs, Wireless, LLC. Remitly says it works on iPhone and Android, but the device must be both eSIM-compatible and carrier-unlocked. Its announcement says the service can connect when a traveler lands after activation.
The 160-plus-country figure is Remitly's own coverage claim. The public announcement does not provide the full country list or name the visited networks, so travelers should confirm the exact destination inside the member flow before relying on it.
The card and the eSIM have different price conditions
Remitly's US landing page describes the basic card as having no monthly fee. The travel eSIM, however, is attached to the paid Monthly Plan membership rather than every card account.
When checked on September 13, 2026, the US page displayed that plan at $9.99 per month and said it could be cancelled at any time. Prices, eligibility, and available features can differ by market and may change. Someone considering the membership only for mobile data should compare the total membership cost with a direct eSIM purchase, while also accounting for any other card benefits they would genuinely use.
Availability is still limited by invitations and rollout
The Global Card is available to eligible, invited customers. Remitly says its regional rollout will continue through the rest of 2026, and the public page offers a waitlist rather than immediate access for everyone.
That makes the eSIM a benefit for a defined group, not a universal free plan. A traveler should confirm all four conditions before counting on it:
- the Global Card is available in the traveler's home market;
- the account has received an invitation and is eligible;
- the paid monthly membership is active; and
- the phone is unlocked and supports eSIM.
Joining a waitlist does not establish eligibility or guarantee that the benefit will be ready before a trip.
What 3GB can cover during a trip
Three gigabytes can be practical for maps, messaging, email, tickets, ride-hailing, and occasional browsing when automatic backups and video autoplay are limited. It is much easier to exhaust with video calls, streaming, large photo uploads, hotspot use, or app updates.
The 12-month window is unusual for an included benefit because the data does not have to be used on one short trip. It may suit a few light-data journeys. It is less suitable when a traveler needs a predictable daily allowance or plans to work from a laptop. Our travel data calculator guide explains how common activities affect an allowance.
Several product details remain unconfirmed
Remitly's announcement establishes the allowance, annual renewal, membership requirement, device requirement, provider, and company-stated country count. It does not confirm:
- whether the profile includes a phone number, standard calls, or SMS;
- whether hotspot or tethering is allowed;
- the complete destination and visited-network list;
- the retail price, size, or validity of a top-up;
- whether unused data survives a cancelled membership;
- whether activation starts a separate validity clock; or
- what refund or service-credit rules apply after a connectivity problem.
Those are purchase and setup questions, not minor exceptions. Check the live member terms before installation. Gigs' general iPhone guidance also says an eSIM profile may be limited to one device and a replacement profile may be needed after changing phones, but Remitly has not publicly confirmed that exact transfer rule for this benefit.
Where Roaming eSIM has the edge
Remitly's offer has a clear advantage for someone who is already eligible, already pays for the membership, and needs no more than 3GB across the year. The data is included in that existing membership.
Roaming eSIM has the stronger fit when the traveler wants to buy connectivity directly without a card invitation or paid financial membership. Its public catalog shows retail price, allowance, validity, network information when available, top-up status, and the product route before checkout.
| Travel decision | Remitly Global Card benefit | Roaming eSIM global plans |
|---|---|---|
| Who can access it? | Eligible, invited members with an active paid plan | Any traveler who can use the public checkout and has a compatible unlocked phone |
| Data choice | Fixed 3GB annual benefit | Current Global 120+ areas catalog ranges from 1GB to 20GB, plus daily allowance options |
| Validity choice | 3GB available over 12 months | Varies by selected package, including short-trip and longer-validity choices |
| Price visibility | Part of a paid membership; US page showed $9.99 per month when checked | Retail package prices are visible before checkout |
| Destination check | Company says 160-plus countries; full public list was not provided | Exact product and package coverage can be checked before purchase |
| Top-up | Remitly says phone top-ups are available; public price and terms were not stated | Current Global 120+ areas package records identify top-up eligibility |
The public Roaming eSIM catalog showed the Global 120+ areas eSIM from $8.90 and nine package choices on September 13. The list included a 3GB, 30-day option at $22.80, as well as smaller, larger, daily, and longer-validity choices. A separate Global139 eSIM provides another coverage footprint to compare.
Always open the selected package before paying. The destination label does not mean every package uses the same network list, allowance, validity, or top-up rule.
Prepare the phone before departure
Check the eSIM compatibility guide, then confirm the carrier-lock status separately. Install while reliable Wi-Fi is available, but do not guess when the usage period begins. The installation timing guide explains the difference between purchase, installation, activation, and first network connection.
Keep the home SIM enabled only if its roaming settings and charges are understood. An eSIM can supply mobile data, but it does not prevent the other line from using paid roaming.
Ten questions travelers ask about the Remitly Global Card eSIM
Is the Remitly travel eSIM free?
It is included for eligible members, but it requires an active paid Global Card Monthly Plan. The US membership page showed $9.99 per month when checked on September 13, 2026.
Can anyone get the Remitly Global Card eSIM?
No. Access currently depends on market availability, eligibility, an invitation, and an active paid membership.
How much data does the Remitly eSIM include?
It includes 3GB. Remitly says that allowance can be used over a 12-month period.
Does the 3GB renew every year?
Remitly says the benefit renews annually with membership. Check the current member terms before the renewal date, especially if the plan has changed or been cancelled.
Which countries does the Remitly eSIM cover?
Remitly says more than 160 countries, but the announcement does not publish the complete list. Confirm the destination in the live member flow.
When does the Remitly eSIM activate?
Remitly says the eSIM works when a member lands once it has been activated. The public announcement does not fully define the activation sequence or any separate clock, so follow the live instructions for the account.
Can I top up after using 3GB?
Remitly says members can top up from their phone. It has not stated the public top-up prices, allowances, or validity in the announcement.
Does it support calls, SMS, or a local number?
The announcement promises mobile data but does not confirm a phone number, standard calls, or SMS. Use internet calling only where the relevant app and local rules allow it.
Can I use the Remitly eSIM as a hotspot?
Hotspot support is not confirmed in the public announcement. Do not plan laptop work around tethering until the live plan terms say it is allowed.
What happens to unused data if I cancel the membership?
Remitly has not explained that case publicly. Ask support or review the current member terms before cancelling while data remains.
Remitly Global Card travel eSIM source record
Remitly's September 10 product update establishes the 3GB allowance, 12-month use window, annual renewal, 160-plus-country claim, top-up statement, invitation status, paid membership rule, device requirement, and Gigs relationship. The July 30 Global Card announcement shows that the travel eSIM was part of the original card launch. Remitly's current US card page provides the dated public membership price and waitlist wording. Gigs' iPhone installation guidance is used only for general provider setup context, not as a substitute for Remitly-specific terms.
Update policy: We will revise this page when Remitly publishes a full destination list, expands access, changes the membership price or eligibility rules, clarifies activation and cancellation treatment, or adds public details for calls, SMS, hotspot use, top-ups, transfers, or refunds.
