Up to 18% off unlimited packagesSee unlimited offers
OpenSimβ„’
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs

Loading page...

Download our app

Roam Smarter on AndroidFly Connected on iPhone
OpenSimβ„’

getopensim.com

Explore

Country eSIMsRegional eSIMsMy eSIMs

Help

SupportResourceseSIM compatibilityPrivacy PolicyTerms & Conditions

Let's stay connected

WhatsApp support β†—[email protected]
Β© 2026 OpenSimβ„’Previously Roaming eSIM. Same accounts. Same team.
OpenSimβ„’
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs
Resources/Travel connectivity news/Saily Shared Plans: Five Travelers Share Data, 20 Split Expenses

Saily shared plans: five travelers share data, 20 split expenses

Travel connectivity newsBy OpenSim editorial teamPublished August 25, 2026Updated September 2, 2026
Follow OpenSim

Add us to your preferred sources on Google.

Add to preferred sources↗
One shared mobile data plan connected to five travelers' phones

Saily launched shared plans on August 24, 2026. One person can buy an eligible data plan and invite up to four companions, giving five travelers separate access to the same allowance through the Saily app.

An August 31 update added a second group tool inside the same app. Saily expense sharing lets up to 20 people track trip costs, convert entries into one default currency and calculate a shorter settlement plan. It does not raise the five-person data limit, and it does not transfer money.

The useful detail sits in Saily's product documentation, not the launch headline. Sharing must happen before the plan activates. The 1 GB, Ultra and unlimited options cannot be shared, every invitee needs the app and a Saily account, and the group remains tied to one common balance and expiry date.

The traveler decision: use Saily's shared plan when up to five people follow the same route and accept one common data balance. The expense ledger can include up to 20 people, even when they do not share data. Separate Roaming eSIM plans are easier to control when travelers use data differently, split up across countries or want their own top-up and support decisions.

Saily's two group tools have different limits

The shared-data and shared-expense features sit in the same app, but they are not one product.

Group featurePublished limitWhat is sharedWhat is not included
Shared data planOne owner plus four inviteesOne eligible fixed-data allowance and expiry1 GB, Ultra and unlimited plans; protected data per person
Expense sharingUp to 20 peopleExpense entries, converted balances and settlement historyAn eSIM plan, bank account or in-app money transfer

The difference matters for a ten-person trip. All ten can use the expense ledger, but one shared data plan still covers no more than five people. The remaining travelers need another shared plan or separate mobile data.

Saily expense sharing tracks costs but does not pay them

The first-party Saily announcement says every logged-in user can create an expense group from the Profile tab. The creator chooses a name, icon and default currency, then invites up to 20 people by email. A recipient who does not use Saily yet receives instructions to download the app, and any group member can invite another participant until the group reaches the limit.

Any member can add an expense in its original currency and divide it equally, unequally or by percentage. Saily converts entries into the group's default currency and updates the balances. Its "Smart settle" calculation reduces the number of repayments, while settlement history records payments after group members make them elsewhere.

That last boundary is easy to miss: Saily does not send the repayment. Travelers still use cash, a bank transfer or another payment service, then tap "Record a payment" in Saily. The announcement also does not state which exchange-rate provider or timestamp applies, whether a rate can be locked, or whether the ledger works offline. A group that needs those details should test the app before relying on it for a multi-country trip.

Expense sharing is available to logged-in users without buying a shared data plan. Conversely, buying a shared data plan does not require the group to track spending in Saily.

What Saily shared plans include

Saily calls the feature both a shared plan and a Family Plan. The name does not limit it to relatives. The August 24 announcement describes families, friends and work groups, while the current Saily help page defines the setup.

Published ruleWhat it means before you buy
One owner plus four inviteesA maximum of five people can use the same plan.
Each person claims access in the appThis is not one QR code copied across five phones.
One shared data allowanceHeavy use by one member leaves less data for everyone else.
Sharing must happen before activationThe owner should invite the group before anyone connects at the destination.
1 GB, Ultra and unlimited options are excludedChoose a 3 GB, 5 GB, 10 GB or 20 GB plan if the group wants to share.
One common expiryThe plan ends when its allowance is exhausted or its validity runs out.

Saily says the feature is available across the destinations where it operates. That statement does not mean every plan shown for every destination qualifies. The in-app plan screen must display the sharing option, and Saily's help page explicitly excludes two plan types.

Share the plan before anyone activates it

The pre-activation rule is the easiest detail to miss. A family can buy early, but the owner should not let the plan activate before invitations are complete.

Saily says the owner opens the purchased plan from the home screen or My plans, adds each member's email address and sends the invitations. The recipient opens the email, taps Claim plan, signs in to the Saily app and confirms the claim.

Use these steps while everyone has reliable private Wi-Fi:

  1. Check that all five phones are unlocked and support eSIM.
  2. Create a separate Saily account for each traveler.
  3. Buy an eligible plan in the owner's app.
  4. Send invitations to the exact email used by each account.
  5. Let every member claim and install access before the trip.
  6. Label the new mobile line and keep home-line data roaming off.

Do not treat installation and plan activation as the same event. Follow the exact activation text shown for the purchased plan. Our installation timing guide explains why a download can be safe before departure while an activation clock may start later.

Every traveler still needs a compatible unlocked phone

A five-person plan does not make five devices eligible. Each phone needs eSIM hardware, space for the profile and no carrier lock that blocks another provider.

Check each device rather than relying on the model name alone. Regional versions of the same phone can differ, and a financed handset can remain locked even when its specifications list eSIM. The Roaming eSIM compatibility guide covers the EID, Add eSIM menu and carrier-lock checks.

Saily's help material says invitees claim the plan on their own device and account. A parent buying for a child should therefore confirm that the child's phone can install the app, receive the invitation and retain account access. Keep the login and order details somewhere the group can reach if the owner loses a phone.

One data pool needs a group usage rule

The feature reduces checkout and setup work, but it does not create five protected allowances. Saily's announcement says each member uses data from the shared package and the owner can track total use and top up for the group.

Before travel, decide which activities can use mobile data. Maps, messages, ride apps and digital tickets are usually predictable. Video, photo backup, app updates, laptop tethering and video calls can drain a pool quickly. The travel data calculator can estimate the whole group's needs.

Saily does not state on the shared-plan help page that the owner can cap each member. Plan as if one traveler can consume a large part of the balance until the app proves otherwise. Ask support before purchase if per-person limits are essential.

The owner should also agree who pays for a top-up and what the group does if the balance reaches zero. A separate offline map and saved hotel address are useful even when the initial allowance looks generous.

Saily 1 GB, unlimited and Ultra plans cannot be shared

The launch release says one package can be distributed to companions, but Saily's newer product article narrows that promise. It lists 3 GB, 5 GB, 10 GB and 20 GB as shareable, excluding the 1 GB, unlimited and Ultra options.

This matters for a group that planned around either the cheapest 1 GB option or unlimited streaming. Buying one of the excluded plans first and looking for an invite button later will not produce a Family Plan. Select a listed shareable allowance before checkout.

If one traveler needs much more data than the others, a shared fixed pool may be the wrong structure. Give the heavy user a separate plan and size the remaining travelers individually. That avoids buying a large shared bundle mainly for one phone.

Calls, SMS and the usual number need a separate check

Saily's general help content describes its travel plans as data-only. Internet calls and messages can work through apps, but a shared data plan does not automatically give each traveler a destination phone number or ordinary incoming SMS.

Saily has published separate phone-number help content for supported add-ons. Do not assume that a number feature is included in, or shareable with, the new group plan unless the selected product states it.

Travelers can keep their usual SIM enabled for their normal number while using the shared plan for mobile data. That arrangement can preserve iMessage, WhatsApp and account access, but ordinary calls, voicemail and SMS on the home line may still trigger roaming charges. Disable cellular-data switching and home-line data roaming unless the home carrier confirms that use is included. The calls and SMS guide covers the dual-line setup.

Saily shared plans versus Vodafone Travel Together

Saily is not the first current travel provider to offer a five-user pool. Vodafone launched its Travel Together Plan in July. Both products put one owner in charge of a common allowance, but their published structures are not identical.

Group-plan questionSaily shared plansVodafone Travel Together
Maximum usersOwner plus four inviteesUp to five eSIMs
Claim methodEmail invitation and Saily accountEmail invitation managed by the owner
Eligible plan limits3 GB, 5 GB, 10 GB or 20 GB; share before activationGroup-specific plans advertised with up to 100GB
Data modelOne shared packageOne shared allowance
Top-up controlAnnouncement says owner tracks and tops up for the groupVodafone says only the owner buys top-ups
Published destination wordingAcross Saily destinations, subject to plan eligibilityAvailable in many destinations, narrower than Vodafone's wider 200+ platform claim

The better option depends on the live route, allowance, validity and price. A provider name or five-device headline is not enough. Open the exact checkout, confirm every destination and check whether the owner controls match the group.

Saily shared plan or separate Roaming eSIM plans?

Separate plans require more than one purchase, but they remove the shared-balance problem.

Trip patternBetter starting pointReason
Five people on the same route with similar useSaily shared planOne payer and one pool can reduce administration.
Adults who want their own data budgetSeparate Roaming eSIM plansOne person cannot drain another person's allowance.
Travelers splitting across destinationsSeparate route-matched plansEach person can choose country, regional or Global coverage for their own route.
One heavy user and several light usersSeparate plansThe heavy user can buy more data without forcing a larger group pool.
A parent managing several similar-use phonesSaily shared planCentral purchase and monitoring may be useful if every phone passes the setup checks.

πŸ† Roaming eSIM wins when individual control matters: each traveler can choose a route-matched plan with a visible allowance, validity, speed label, listed operator where supplied and package-level top-up status. Support is available 24/7. Roaming eSIM does not claim to provide one pooled Family Plan, so Saily can be the better fit when central sharing is the priority.

Saily also has the advantage when a group wants its expense ledger and shared mobile data in one app. Roaming eSIM keeps the connectivity decision narrower: each person can choose and manage a separate plan without giving one trip member control of the whole group's balance. The expense-sharing announcement does not change that comparison because its 20-person ledger is separate from the five-person data pool.

For one-country trips, open the exact destination page. Use a Europe Roaming eSIM, North America Roaming eSIM, Asia Roaming eSIM or Global Roaming eSIM only after checking every stop. The country versus regional guide helps when the group has different routes.

Ten questions travelers ask about Saily shared plans and expenses

Can one Saily eSIM be installed on five phones?

No. Each invited traveler claims access in the Saily app on their own device. The shared product is not one reusable QR code.

How many people can join a Saily shared plan?

The owner can invite four additional people, making five users in total.

Does every member need a Saily account?

Yes. Saily says the invited person must have the app and sign in to an account to claim the plan.

Expense participants also need to become logged-in Saily users. People without the app can receive an email invitation, but they must download and sign in before joining.

Can I share a plan after it activates?

No. The current help page says the plan must not have been activated before sharing.

Can Saily Unlimited be shared?

No. The 1 GB, unlimited and Ultra options are excluded. Saily lists 3 GB, 5 GB, 10 GB and 20 GB as shareable.

Does each person get a separate allowance?

No. Members draw from the same package. Saily does not publish a per-member cap on the help page.

Can 20 people share one Saily data plan?

No. The expense group supports up to 20 people, but the data plan remains limited to the owner and four invitees.

Does Saily transfer the money when a group settles?

No. Repayments happen outside the app. Members record a payment afterward so Saily can update the balance and settlement history.

What happens when the shared data runs out?

Saily says the plan remains active until its data is exhausted or it expires. The announcement says the owner can monitor use and top up for the group.

Who should choose separate Roaming eSIM plans?

Choose separate plans when travelers need independent balances, different destinations, different trip lengths or their own top-up decisions.

Sources and updates

The August 24 announcement supplied the shared-plan launch date, four-companion limit, owner monitoring, top-up description and availability statement. Saily's live Family Plan help page supplied the app-only setup, email claim flow, five-user total, pre-activation requirement, excluded 1 GB, Ultra and unlimited tiers, and end conditions. Saily's August 31 product article supplied the separate 20-person expense limit, invitation rules, split methods, currency conversion, Smart settle behavior, editing and settlement history.

Dedicated expense apps commonly document offline entry, exports, receipt scanning or payment links that Saily's announcement does not promise.

The shared-plan sources were checked on August 25, 2026, and the expense-sharing evidence was checked on September 2. We will update this URL if Saily changes either participant limit, eligible plans, invitation timing, owner controls, destination scope, expense permissions, currency handling, payment behavior, calls, hotspot, top-up or expiry behavior.

Separate Roaming eSIM plans for travelers who need their own allowance

Compare global, regional, and country OpenSim eSIM plans

Choose coverage that matches the countries on your route, then compare data, validity, activation, and hotspot terms.

Global plan

Global (120+ areas) eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.015 reviews

120+ destination coverage from $8.9

View plans
Regional plan

Europe eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.015 reviews

41-destination coverage from $3.2

View plans
Regional plan

North America eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.013 reviews

3-destination coverage from $2.3

View plans
Regional plan

Asia (20 areas) eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.011 reviews

20-destination coverage from $3.2

View plans

Keep reading

More in travel connectivity news

View category
←Previous guideKT Expands Roaming as Korean Travelers Choose eSIMNext guideβ†’Roaming eSIM FLASH22: 22% Off Until September 15