Vodafone Travel Together Plan shares one data pool across five eSIMs

Vodafone launched its Travel Together Plan on July 9, 2026, and was still promoting it on its live travel site on August 11. One person buys a group data plan containing up to five separate eSIMs. Each phone connects on its own, while every member uses the same shared allowance. Vodafone currently advertises group options with up to 100GB.
The owner pays the full price upfront, invites members by email, controls membership and is the only person who can buy top-ups. This is different from installing one eSIM on a phone and asking everyone to stay near its hotspot. A Travel Together member has an eSIM on their own compatible phone and can remain online when the group splits up.
The traveler decision: Vodafone wins when one organizer wants to pay once and connect up to five devices from one pool. Separate plans are safer when travelers need different coverage, data budgets or control over their own top-ups.
How the Vodafone Travel Together Plan works
Vodafone's launch article and current group-plan help content establish the core workflow:
- The owner selects and pays for one Travel Together Plan.
- The plan provides up to five eSIMs sharing one data allowance.
- The owner sends invitations using each member's email address.
- Each member installs a separate eSIM on their own phone or compatible device.
- The owner adds or removes members and buys any available top-up.
That fifth step matters. Group members are not billed, and Vodafone says only the owner can add data or validity through the Vodafone Travel eSIM app. If the group runs low while the owner is asleep, offline or busy, another member cannot assume that account-side job.
| Published Travel Together rule | What it changes for the group |
|---|---|
| Up to five eSIMs | Five devices can have their own mobile connection instead of depending on one hotspot phone. |
| One shared allowance | Usage is combined. One person's video or cloud backup reduces the data left for everyone. |
| Owner pays upfront | There is one purchase, but the group must settle any cost-sharing privately. |
| Invitations use email | The owner needs the correct email for every member before handoff. |
| Only the owner buys top-ups | Extra data and validity depend on one administrator. |
| Hotspot and tethering are allowed | A member can connect a laptop or another Wi-Fi device, but that usage also comes from the shared pool. |
Vodafone's public FAQ does not state that an owner can assign a separate data cap to each member. Until the checkout or support team confirms such a control, plan as if every device can draw from the common balance. Disable automatic app updates, photo backup and high-quality streaming before arrival if an uneven drain would disrupt the trip.
Five eSIMs are not one QR code copied five times
A normal consumer eSIM profile is generally installed on one device. Travel Together does not change that rule by making one QR reusable. It packages several eSIM profiles under one group plan.
That difference removes the main weakness of hotspot-only sharing. A family can separate at a museum, beach or airport and keep independent cellular access. The owner phone does not need to stay powered, nearby and broadcasting Wi-Fi for the others.
The group is still linked in two ways:
- everyone consumes one pool;
- the owner retains the account controls.
This makes the product a strong fit for a coordinated group with similar use. It is less comfortable when one person streams heavily, travelers continue to different countries, or adults want private plan and payment control.
Our family eSIM setup index compares the separate question of buying, delivering and managing plans for someone else. Vodafone Travel Together was launched outside that fixed ten-provider sample, so the study now links back to this current product report without rewriting its original dataset.
Saily launched a separate five-person pool in August. Our Saily shared plans report explains its pre-activation invitation rule and the exclusion of Ultra and Unlimited tiers. Keep the two branded products separate when comparing live prices and coverage.
Travel Together availability is not the same as Vodafone's 200+ destination claim
Vodafone's wider Travel eSIM platform covers more than 200 destinations, according to its original platform announcement. That figure describes Vodafone Travel eSIM overall.
The Travel Together announcement uses the narrower phrase available in many destinations. Current destination results, including the Netherlands page, show a Travel Together availability card, but Vodafone does not publish a simple group-plan country total on the pages checked.
Do not carry the 200+ figure across to the group product without checking. Search the exact destination or region and confirm that the selected card says Travel Together before paying. Then read its country list, allowance and validity. A large Europe plan is not useful for a member who continues into an unlisted stop.
The Vodafone group plan is for travel data, not a shared phone number
Vodafone describes Travel Together as a group data plan. Its wider Travel eSIM service is data-only: ordinary mobile calls, SMS and a local phone number are not included. Internet calls and messages work through apps and consume the shared allowance.
Travelers can keep their usual SIM installed for their normal number. That does not make the home line free abroad. Before departure:
- select the Vodafone travel line for mobile data;
- turn data roaming on for that travel line when its instructions require it;
- turn data roaming off for the home line unless the home plan explicitly includes the destination;
- check the cost of receiving or making ordinary calls and SMS on the home line;
- disable automatic cellular data switching if it could move traffic back to the home SIM.
The travel eSIM calls and SMS guide explains the difference between app-based calling, a data-only eSIM and a plan with a real phone number.
Every member's phone still needs to pass the compatibility check
Five included eSIMs do not make five phones compatible. Vodafone's current Travel Together terms require a compatible unlocked device. Each phone also needs room for another active or stored profile.
Check every phone separately. Two devices with the same marketing name can have different regional hardware or carrier locks. An Add eSIM menu or EID indicates eSIM hardware, but it does not prove the phone accepts another provider's profile.
Use the eSIM compatibility checker before checkout. Install while the group is together on reliable Wi-Fi, and label each profile with the traveler and route. Our installation timing guide covers the difference between buying, downloading, activating and starting plan validity.
Decide who owns the shared-data risk before buying
One shared pool is convenient only if the group agrees on how it will be used. The owner should settle four questions before sending invitations:
- Who checks the remaining balance each day?
- Which apps must be Wi-Fi-only?
- Who pays if the group needs more data?
- What backup does each person have if the pool runs out?
Use the travel data calculator for the whole group, not only the owner's phone. Add maps, messaging, ride apps and ticket access for every member, then account separately for streaming, video calls, uploads and hotspot use.
The data tracking index explains why an app balance and a phone's counter can differ. The top-up index covers the separate question of whether an active plan can receive more data without a new installation.
Vodafone says the owner can remove a member if a phone is lost or stolen. If the owner's phone is lost, the owner can sign in at travel.vodafone.com and stop the eSIM. Save the account recovery path, order confirmation and support link somewhere the group can reach without that phone.
Vodafone Travel Together or separate Roaming eSIM plans?
Neither model wins every group trip.
| Trip pattern | Better starting point | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Up to five people on the same route and dates, with one payer | Vodafone Travel Together | Each device gets an eSIM, while one purchase and one allowance keep administration together. |
| Adults who separate and want their own data budget | Separate Roaming eSIM plans | One member cannot consume another member's allowance, and each traveler can size the plan to their use. |
| A group continuing to different countries or regions | Separate route-matched plans | Each traveler can buy country, regional or Global coverage for the itinerary they will actually follow. |
| Young children who remain beside an adult | One hotspot-capable plan may be enough | A child without an eSIM-compatible phone can use the adult's hotspot while they remain nearby. |
| A traveler who needs ordinary mobile calls, SMS or a local number | Check a voice-capable product or home-carrier option | Both the Vodafone group product and many Roaming eSIM packages are data-only. Read the selected card. |
π Roaming eSIM wins when independence matters: country, regional and Global plans let each traveler choose coverage, allowance and validity for their own route instead of drawing from a common bucket. My eSIMs provides one-tap, QR and manual installation details, eligible plans can be topped up, and the public support hub offers 24/7 help.
Roaming eSIM does not publish a pooled family plan. Its public support page also does not define the account relationship when one buyer installs a plan on someone else's phone. Confirm that arrangement with support before purchasing for another traveler. This is an independent-plan advantage, not a claim that Roaming eSIM copies Vodafone's group feature.
Use the country versus regional Roaming eSIM guide when the group has more than one route. The live cards below show four broad starting points. Open the exact product page and check coverage, data, validity, hotspot, calls, SMS and top-up for the selected package.
Ten questions travelers ask about Vodafone Travel Together
Can the same Vodafone eSIM be installed on five phones?
No. Travel Together includes up to five separate eSIMs that draw from one pool. It does not make one profile or QR code reusable on five phones.
Does each member receive a separate data allowance?
No. The eSIM profiles are separate, but the data allowance is shared. Usage by one member reduces the balance available to the rest of the group.
Can group members stay online when they split up?
Yes, provided each phone has installed its own Travel Together eSIM and remains in a covered destination with service. They do not need to remain within hotspot range of the owner.
Who pays and who can top up the Vodafone group plan?
The owner pays the full plan price upfront. Vodafone says only the owner can purchase top-ups for extra data or validity through the app.
Can the owner set a data cap for each person?
Vodafone's public group-plan FAQ did not state a per-member cap when checked on August 11, 2026. Ask support before buying if individual limits are essential.
Does Travel Together allow hotspot use?
Yes. Vodafone says hotspot and tethering are allowed on all Travel Together eSIMs. Tethered devices consume the same shared allowance.
Are calls and SMS included?
The product is described as data-only. App calls and messages use data. Ordinary mobile calls and SMS remain with another line or service and may incur roaming charges.
Does every member need an unlocked eSIM phone?
Every device receiving a profile must be compatible and carrier unlocked. A member can instead use another person's hotspot when that arrangement and the selected plan allow it.
Is Travel Together available in all 200+ Vodafone Travel destinations?
Do not assume so. The 200+ figure belongs to the wider Vodafone Travel eSIM platform. The group announcement says Travel Together is available in many destinations, so confirm the group card for the exact route.
When are separate Roaming eSIM plans better?
Choose separate plans when travelers need independent allowances, different coverage, different trip lengths or their own top-up decisions. Choose Vodafone's shared plan when one pool and one owner are useful rather than restrictive.
Sources and updates
Vodafone product facts were checked against the July 9 launch article, current homepage, help content, destination result, Travel Together terms link and the wider Vodafone Travel eSIM announcement on August 11, 2026.
The Roaming eSIM comparison uses the public support page and live catalog endpoints. Those checks found current country, regional and broader choices for sample United Kingdom, United States and Japan routes. Plan counts and fields change, so the product page at checkout remains the source for the selected package.
We will update this page if Vodafone changes the five-eSIM limit, shared-data maximum, owner controls, top-up rule, destination availability, hotspot support, service type or terms.



