Travel eSIM Hotspot Index: What 10 Providers Tell Laptop Users

All ten travel eSIM providers checked in this study publish some route to hotspot use. Only two publish the hotspot allowance rule in the pages we audited. That gap matters when a traveler plans to connect a laptop, share data with another phone, or replace unreliable hotel Wi-Fi for an hour.
The word yes is not a common policy. Jetpac publishes all-plan sharing without a separate limit. Holafly publishes up to 1GB of hotspot sharing per day for its regular travel eSIMs, while its separate monthly products have different rules. Roaming eSIM says many plans allow hotspot use and tells travelers to check the selected package. Other providers describe device or network conditions without stating a separate sharing allowance.
Study result: 10 of 10 checked providers publish a hotspot answer. Eight define the provider or plan scope. Six publish iPhone steps, six publish Android steps, and eight publish a caveat or troubleshooting route. Only Holafly publishes all six fields in our method.
Download the travel eSIM hotspot CSV or open the JSON dataset. The JSON includes the fixed sample, scoring method, first-party sources, ten competing search pages, ten public traveler questions, a current Roaming eSIM Japan catalog case study, and a SHA-256 checksum for the normalized source file. Every CSV record has its own checksum.
Can you use a travel eSIM hotspot for a laptop?
Usually, but the provider name alone does not settle the question. The phone must support personal hotspot, the selected eSIM plan must allow tethering, and the local network must make the service available. A separate hotspot allowance may also be smaller than the phone's main data allowance.
Use this decision order before buying:
- Check that the exact plan permits hotspot use.
- Check whether the provider publishes a separate sharing allowance.
- Compare the plan's total data or daily high-speed allowance with the laptop task.
- Confirm whether the phone needs a Personal Hotspot APN.
- Keep another connection route for a meeting that cannot be moved.
| What you need | What the checked evidence supports |
|---|---|
| A short laptop session for email or bookings | Every checked provider publishes some hotspot route, but the selected plan and device still control the result. |
| A known daily sharing allowance | Holafly publishes up to 1GB/day for its regular travel eSIMs. Jetpac publishes no separate hotspot limit. The other eight checked pages do not publish an allowance rule. |
| Detailed iPhone and Android setup | Airalo, Holafly, Saily, Nomad, Ubigi and GigSky publish both paths in the checked sources. |
| An all-plan scope statement | Maya Mobile, Ubigi and Jetpac publish broad all-plan or any-plan wording. Other providers use a condition, a product split, or do not define the full scope. |
| Remote work or a fixed video call | A permission statement is not a reliability promise. Check the plan allowance, signal, local network, battery, APN and a backup connection. |
| Several devices for a family or group | Each connected device draws on the same phone connection. Confirm sharing policy, data quantity and phone battery before making one device the group's only route online. |
Explore the ten-provider CSV
Compare hotspot permission, limits and setup detail
Search a provider or policy phrase, then filter for an allowance rule, iPhone steps, Android steps, troubleshooting, or a complete six-field answer. Every row links to the first-party page used in the audit.
Loading the hotspot policy CSV...
Travel eSIM providers explain permission better than the allowance

All ten public pages answer the first question: can a traveler use hotspot in at least some form? Eight go one step further by saying whether the answer covers all plans, most plans, eSIM rather than a legacy plastic SIM, or the selected plan only.
The sharp drop comes at the allowance field. Only two checked providers publish either a separate numeric limit or an explicit no-separate-limit rule in the audited pages:
- Holafly says its regular travel eSIMs allow up to 1GB of hotspot sharing per day. Its monthly Holafly Plans products use separate sharing rules.
- Jetpac says all plans permit sharing without a separate hotspot limit, while the shared data still uses the purchased allowance.
The other eight rows score “not stated” for the allowance field. That does not prove those providers restrict hotspot use. It means a traveler cannot settle that part of the decision from the pages used in this audit.
Strongest supported conclusion: Hotspot permission is widely documented. Hotspot capacity is not. A provider can say “yes” without telling a laptop user how much data can be shared.
This is why the study does not rank providers by the size of an unpublished limit. A blank field is missing evidence, not a zero-gigabyte allowance. It would also be misleading to copy a provider's general unlimited-data rule into the hotspot column unless the source explicitly connects the two.
Holafly publishes the most complete hotspot policy

Holafly is the only provider in the sample that publishes all six fields. Airalo, Nomad, Ubigi and GigSky each publish five. This is a disclosure result, not a claim that Holafly supplies the largest hotspot allowance, the fastest network, or the best value.
Holafly's regular travel-plan allowance can be restrictive for a laptop. That restriction is also useful evidence. A traveler who expects a long video call can reject the plan before purchase instead of discovering the limit during the call. The checked guide also separates regular travel eSIMs from Holafly Plans, where the unlimited monthly product publishes unlimited sharing and the 25GB monthly product publishes 25GB of sharing.
🏆 Disclosure leader: Holafly publishes permission, product scope, a sharing allowance, iPhone steps, Android steps, and usage caveats. The trophy recognizes a complete public answer. It does not turn a 1GB/day travel-plan limit into an unlimited laptop plan.
That product distinction prevents a common comparison error. A statement about a monthly subscription should not be copied onto a destination travel eSIM, and a destination-plan limit should not be applied to the monthly product. The plan family is part of the answer.
Four providers publish five of six fields
Airalo, Nomad, Ubigi and GigSky fall one field short of a complete answer, but for different reasons.
Airalo explains the APN step clearly
Airalo's tethering help page says personal hotspot can be used when the device and network support it. It publishes iPhone and Android instructions and addresses a failure that general guides often miss: when the eSIM needs a manual APN, the Personal Hotspot APN may need the same value.
Airalo does not publish a separate hotspot allowance or no-cap statement on the checked help page. A traveler therefore has strong setup guidance but still needs the exact package or fair-use terms for the capacity decision.
Nomad explains why hotspot stability can vary
Nomad's hotspot help page says its eSIMs support tethering and describes the feature as working with most Nomad eSIMs. It publishes both device paths and names device type, local network, region and congestion as possible causes of instability.
That caveat is useful because a hotspot switch can be available while the shared connection is still unsuitable for a call. Nomad does not publish a separate hotspot allowance on the page we scored.
Ubigi provides the broadest device-specific setup
Ubigi's tethering help includes iOS and several Android brands, including Samsung, Motorola, Pixel and Huawei. Its iPhone guidance points to the mbb APN when Personal Hotspot is unavailable. Ubigi's public product statement says any Ubigi data plan can turn a smartphone into a hotspot.
The missing field is again the allowance rule. The sources do not publish a separate hotspot quantity or a provider-side no-cap statement in the pages scored here.
GigSky distinguishes eSIM from its legacy plastic SIM
GigSky's Personal Hotspot help page says yes for GigSky eSIM on Apple devices, confirms Android sharing, and publishes a Windows connected-PC path. It also says the legacy GigSky plastic SIM does not support the function.
Keeping that exception in the row matters. “GigSky supports hotspot” is accurate for the eSIM context of this study, but it would be too broad if applied to the older physical product. GigSky does not publish a separate hotspot allowance on the checked page.
A permission page is not a laptop-work guarantee
Several popular search pages answer a technology question: can an eSIM create a hotspot? The answer is yes because an eSIM is a way to provision a mobile line. The harder question is whether a particular travel plan permits sharing and supplies enough usable data for the task.
A provider page can be complete about setup and still say nothing about capacity. It can publish an allowance and still make no performance promise. These are different layers:
| Layer | Question to answer | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | Can this device create a personal hotspot? | Some phones, carrier configurations or software builds can hide or restrict the control. |
| Plan | Does the selected eSIM permit tethering? | A provider-wide guide may not apply to every resold or destination-specific package. |
| Allowance | Is hotspot counted from the bundle or given a separate cap? | A laptop session can end even while phone data remains available. |
| Network | Does the local operator support stable sharing here? | Signal, congestion and partner configuration can change by location. |
| Workload | How much data and continuity does the task need? | Email, a system update and a video call place very different demands on the line. |
| Power | Can the phone sustain the session? | Hotspot use adds battery drain and heat, especially while the phone is also in use. |
The index scores only what the provider publishes. It does not convert those fields into a reliability score because no public document can reproduce the signal, congestion and phone conditions of every trip.
Why unlimited eSIM data does not settle hotspot use
“Unlimited” can describe phone data while a separate hotspot rule controls sharing. Holafly provides a clear example: regular travel eSIMs publish unlimited phone data and up to 1GB/day of sharing. Its separate monthly unlimited plan publishes unlimited sharing. The same word appears, but the product and hotspot outcomes differ.
Daily high-speed allowances also matter. A plan can continue at reduced speed after the daily allowance without ending service. That may be enough for messages and too slow for a work task. The Travel eSIM Throttle Index compares published high-speed allowances, reduced speeds, reset outcomes and hotspot rules for a fixed Europe-plan sample.
Do not combine a provider's fixed-data plan with its unlimited-plan policy. A 20GB fixed bundle may simply draw every tethered megabyte from the 20GB total. An unlimited plan may use a daily high-speed allowance, reduced-speed continuation and a separate tethering cap. Read the selected offer as one set of terms.
Roaming eSIM gives laptop users a plan-choice advantage
Roaming eSIM does not win the six-field hotspot disclosure score. Its public answer is conditional: many plans allow hotspot use, and the selected package and phone control the result. It publishes three of the six fields in this audit. The data does not support calling it the policy-disclosure leader.
Its verified advantage appears after the traveler asks the right first question. Once hotspot support is confirmed on the selected package, Roaming eSIM provides a broad live choice of data sizes and terms instead of forcing every laptop user into one generic unlimited label.
We checked the public, agent-safe Japan catalog on August 11 at 08:39 UTC. It returned 43 current packages:
- 20 daily packages and 23 fixed-data packages;
- daily high-speed choices from 500MB/day to 10GB/day;
- fixed allowances from 100MB to 50GB;
- validity choices from one to 180 days;
- 3G/4G and 3G/4G/5G speed labels;
- reduced-speed figures of 256 Kbps, 384 Kbps, 512 Kbps and 1 Mbps where a fair-use field applied;
- top-up support on 40 of the 43 checked records.
Those are catalog fields, not hotspot performance results. They let a traveler match the data shape to the task after checking the package's hotspot permission. The 100MB option is not presented as a laptop-work plan, and the 10GB/day option is not a guarantee of 10GB at a particular speed or location.
🏆 Roaming eSIM choice win: The checked Japan catalog offers 43 current ways to size a plan, including fixed data and daily high-speed choices. That is more decision-useful than a generic news or blog answer that stops at “yes, eSIMs can hotspot.” The win is package choice and published plan fields, not a claim that every package permits hotspot or that Roaming eSIM is always cheapest.
This is the honest Roaming eSIM edge for laptop users: choose around the actual trip rather than buying by a broad provider label. A short booking session, three days of light work and a month of daily calls should not be forced into the same data shape. The live card remains the source for price, coverage, activation, hotspot, data, speed and reloadability before payment.
The Japan Roaming eSIM page shows country plans. The Europe Roaming eSIM page, Asia 20 Areas Roaming eSIM page and Global 120 Areas Roaming eSIM page cover routes that cross supported borders. Check every country on a regional plan rather than assuming the plan name covers the itinerary.
How much data should you plan for laptop hotspot use?
There is no single safe allowance because a laptop can behave very differently from a phone. A quiet browser session may use little data. Cloud sync, operating-system downloads, high-resolution video and large attachments can consume a plan quickly without an obvious warning.
Start with the actual task list:
| Laptop task | Planning effect | What to do before sharing data |
|---|---|---|
| Email, messages and booking changes | Usually lighter than streaming, but attachments can change the total | Pause mail attachment downloads and open only what is needed. |
| Web work and documents | Browser tabs, live collaboration and cloud autosave add background traffic | Make key files available offline and close unused tabs. |
| Audio meeting | Lower visual load than video, but continuity still matters | Keep a dial-in or second connection route if the meeting is fixed. |
| Video meeting | High and continuous data demand | Lower video quality, close cloud sync and confirm the hotspot allowance before joining. |
| Photo or video upload | A single file can dominate the plan | Queue uploads for trusted Wi-Fi unless the plan was sized for them. |
| System or application update | Can start automatically when the laptop sees Wi-Fi | Mark the hotspot as a metered connection and pause updates. |
| Streaming | Quality settings can change usage sharply | Download media before travel or choose a lower resolution. |
Use the travel data calculator to model a trip that includes laptop hotspot time. It is a planning tool, not a network promise. Check recent device usage as well, because your own call platform, video quality and sync behavior are better inputs than a universal estimate.
When phone tethering is a good fit
Phone tethering is a practical fit when one or two devices need occasional access, the traveler can watch the data balance, and a dropped session would be inconvenient rather than costly. Common examples include completing a booking, sending a document, checking a rail change or giving a travel companion temporary access.
It is a weaker single point of failure when several people depend on one phone, a remote worker needs hours of continuous service, or the phone must also handle navigation, messages and authentication. Battery drain, heat and separation matter. If the person carrying the hotspot leaves the room, every connected device leaves the network too.
For a family, the Travel eSIM Family Setup Index checks who can buy, hand off and manage plans across ten providers. A family-management answer is different from hotspot permission. One account can sometimes buy several plans even when one phone should not serve as the only shared connection.
Can a travel router use a phone's eSIM connection?
Some travel routers can accept a USB-tethered phone or repeat a phone hotspot. That does not move the eSIM into the router. The phone remains the mobile modem, and the provider's plan rules still apply.
A dedicated cellular router is different. It needs its own compatible SIM or eSIM route, supported bands and a plan that permits that device type. A phone-focused provider statement should not be treated as permission to install or use the service in a router.
Before relying on a router:
- Confirm the router's input method and phone compatibility.
- Confirm that the selected plan permits the intended tethering or device use.
- Test the cable, power supply and reconnection path before travel.
- Keep the provider's APN and support instructions offline.
- Do not assume a travel router bypasses a hotspot cap or fair-use policy.
Public Reddit questions about routers shaped this section, but they did not establish provider policy. The scored answers still come from first-party provider pages.
What to do when the hotspot switch is missing or devices have no internet
Work from the simplest cause to the plan-specific one:
- Confirm that the travel eSIM itself has mobile data on the phone.
- Confirm that the eSIM, not the home line, is selected for mobile data.
- Turn on any data-roaming setting required by the package instructions.
- Open Personal Hotspot or Hotspot and Tethering, set a password, and reconnect one device.
- Restart the phone or toggle airplane mode if the provider recommends it.
- Check whether the eSIM requires an APN in the Personal Hotspot field.
- Check the remaining plan data, daily high-speed allowance and any separate sharing limit.
- Contact the provider if the phone has data but the connected device still cannot load a page.
Airalo and Ubigi provide the strongest APN-specific guidance in this sample. Maya Mobile publishes a restart as its first fix. Nomad explains that device and local-network conditions can affect stability. GigSky separates its eSIM answer from the legacy plastic SIM answer.
Do not repeatedly change APN values from an unrelated forum post. Use the value supplied for the selected package. An incorrect APN can stop the eSIM itself from connecting.
Ten hotspot questions travelers are asking
Public Reddit pages and search results were used to identify the questions. They are not treated as a representative survey and did not determine provider scores.
- Can I connect my work laptop to a travel eSIM hotspot? Usually, when the phone, selected plan and network support tethering. Check the exact plan and any separate sharing allowance before depending on it.
- Do unlimited travel eSIMs limit hotspot use? Some do. Holafly's regular travel eSIMs publish up to 1GB/day of sharing, while its separate monthly unlimited product publishes a different rule. Never transfer one product's policy to another.
- Is an eSIM hotspot reliable enough for video calls? A policy page cannot guarantee that. Signal, congestion, local operator, device heat, battery and the plan's high-speed allowance all affect the session.
- How much hotspot data do I need for study abroad? Build the estimate from the actual learning platform, calls, uploads and class days. Pause updates and sync, then use the travel data calculator and recent device usage.
- Does the laptop use the same IP location as the eSIM phone? The laptop's traffic normally exits through the phone's mobile connection, but the apparent IP country can differ from the travel destination. Do not assume a local IP unless the selected service states it.
- Can I use the eSIM with a travel router? A router may share a phone's connection by USB or Wi-Fi, but that does not make the router an approved eSIM device. Check both the plan rule and router method.
- Should I carry a dedicated hotspot device? It can make sense for several devices or long work sessions. It adds cost, charging, device compatibility and its own plan decision.
- Can I share data with a friend whose phone does not support eSIM? Yes, if the selected plan and the hotspot phone permit it. The friend's phone only needs Wi-Fi to join.
- Is a second small eSIM useful only for occasional tethering? It can be, especially as a backup, but the value depends on coverage, allowance, validity and the cost of losing the main connection.
- Can I keep my primary number while the travel eSIM supplies hotspot data? On a compatible dual-SIM phone, the home line can remain available while the travel eSIM is selected for data. Home-carrier roaming charges can still apply to the primary line.
What the top search pages leave unanswered
We reviewed ten pages that currently compete for travel eSIM hotspot and tethering searches. Several are genuinely useful. TripoSIM and eSIMKitStore give practical setup and battery advice. Airalo explains the technology and device paths. Earth SIMs compares phone tethering with dedicated hardware. eSIMShortlist correctly warns that unlimited plans need closer checking. Simport publishes a detailed provider table and attempts to separate marketing copy from contract language.
The recurring gap is reproducibility. The pages generally do not provide all of these together:
- a sample fixed before scoring;
- one stable set of fields for every provider;
- an explicit rule for “not stated”;
- first-party source URLs at record level;
- a downloadable CSV and JSON file;
- a checksum for each normalized record;
- a deterministic generator that rebuilds the tables and charts;
- a clear separation between disclosure, product generosity and real-world performance.
This study does not claim that downloadable data alone makes every classification correct. It makes the work inspectable. A reader can see the field, open the source, challenge the classification and rerun the generator after a policy changes.
The content gap also explains why this is not another generic “can an eSIM hotspot?” article. That question is already answered many times. The unmet decision is what a traveler can verify about a named provider before trusting it with a laptop.
How this hotspot audit can be reproduced
Why these ten providers were sampled
The sample contains Roaming eSIM, Airalo, Holafly, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM, Maya Mobile, Ubigi, GigSky and Jetpac. It is the recurring ten-provider cohort used across established Roaming eSIM policy studies. We fixed the sample before applying the hotspot fields.
The cohort is not a market-share ranking. A provider outside the sample may publish a stronger or weaker policy. The study should be expanded by adding a declared row, not by silently replacing a low-scoring provider.
The six hotspot fields we scored
A provider earns one point for each fact explicitly stated in the checked first-party pages:
- a hotspot permission outcome;
- provider or plan scope;
- a hotspot allowance rule, including a numeric cap or explicit no-separate-limit statement;
- iPhone or iOS setup steps;
- Android setup steps;
- a device, network, APN, usage or troubleshooting caveat.
A restriction earns the field because it supports a decision. Holafly's 1GB/day travel-plan limit earns the allowance field. Silence does not. We do not assume that a provider with no published allowance blocks hotspot or offers unlimited sharing.
The score measures documentation completeness only. It does not measure price, destination coverage, speed, latency, support quality, refund policy, app quality, customer satisfaction or network reliability. The Travel eSIM Network Disclosure Index owns local-operator transparency. The Travel eSIM Support Access Index owns pre-purchase support routes.
Source handling
First-party public help pages, product pages and provider-authored guidance were checked on August 11, 2026. Where two product families used different rules, the row keeps the split visible. Where a page used general eSIM wording rather than a provider-wide promise, we did not promote it into an all-plan claim.
The normalized source file lives at scripts/research/data/travel-esim-hotspot-index-source.json. Run:
``bash node scripts/research/generate-travel-esim-hotspot-index.mjs ``
The script rebuilds the CSV, JSON and three WebP charts. It calculates a SHA-256 checksum for the normalized source file and for each provider record. A deterministic rebuild is covered by the page test.
Public demand research
Public Reddit pages surfaced ten recurring contexts: work laptops, unlimited-plan limits, video calls, study abroad, IP location, travel routers, dedicated hotspot devices, sharing with an incompatible phone, a second backup eSIM, and keeping the primary number active.
These posts establish that the questions exist. They do not establish how often every traveler asks them, whether a provider policy is true, or which provider performs best. Public engagement was not used as a score.
Search competitor review
Ten ranking or directly relevant pages were read before the article was written. Their strengths and content gaps are included in the JSON dataset. Search positions can differ by country, device, date and personalization, so the rank field records the research order rather than a universal Google position.
Limits of this public-policy audit
This study does not prove that:
- every plan sold by a provider will work as a hotspot in every country;
- a provider with a higher disclosure score is faster or more reliable;
- a no-separate-limit statement prevents a local operator from applying fair use;
- a phone hotspot can replace fixed broadband for sustained work;
- a connected laptop will receive the same throughput as the phone;
- an unlimited phone-data plan gives unlimited high-speed tethering;
- Roaming eSIM is the cheapest option in every comparison;
- the Japan catalog range applies unchanged to another destination or date.
The findings remain valid if a competitor offers a better price or a larger hotspot allowance. The study asks what is publicly documented, and the result must follow those documents.
How to choose a travel eSIM for laptop use
Use the following final check before paying:
- Open the exact destination or regional package.
- Confirm hotspot or tethering permission for that package.
- Write down any separate sharing limit.
- Compare fixed data or daily high-speed data with the real laptop task.
- Read the reduced-speed outcome and reset timing.
- Check the supported countries and local networks for the whole route.
- Confirm activation timing so the plan does not start too early.
- Check whether the package can be topped up if the allowance runs out.
- Save the APN and support route offline.
- Keep another connection for a fixed work commitment.
Roaming eSIM is a good fit when the traveler values a wide choice of package sizes, route coverage and published plan fields. It is not automatically the right fit when a selected package does not support hotspot, when a local SIM includes a better work allowance, or when a dedicated router is required. The plan must earn the decision.
Source evidence and hotspot update schedule
Provider classifications were checked against Roaming eSIM, Airalo, Holafly, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM, Maya Mobile, Ubigi, GigSky and Jetpac.
The Roaming eSIM Japan case study used the public agent-safe package endpoint at 08:39 UTC on August 11. It exposes current retail plan fields without supplier costs, internal package identifiers or raw upstream records.
We will update the dataset when a provider materially changes hotspot permission, product scope, a sharing allowance, setup guidance or troubleshooting instructions. A refresh will preserve the method, record the new checked date, regenerate the checksums and explain any classification change. If a future source gives Roaming eSIM a complete six-field answer, the score will rise. If a source removes a field, it will fall.
Last source review: August 11, 2026.



