Travel eSIM Throttle Index: What 8 Europe Plans Give You Before Speeds Drop

Six of the eight Europe travel eSIM offers in this fixed sample publish two numbers a traveler needs before buying: the high-speed allowance and the speed that follows. Holafly and Yesim confirm that speed management can apply, but the checked public pages do not state both numbers for the selected Europe offer.
The word “unlimited” does not describe one plan structure. Airalo uses a rolling 3 GB allowance every 24 hours. Saily publishes 3 GB or 5 GB per 24 hours depending on the destination. Ubigi provides one 60 GB high-speed pool across a 30-day plan. Those terms cannot be compared honestly without keeping the time window beside the number.
Roaming eSIM takes a different route. Its sampled offer is called Europe 1GB/Day, not unlimited, and the live catalog states 384 Kbps after the daily high-speed allowance. It is not the largest allowance or the fastest reduced rate in this study. It is the only sampled plan whose name tells the buyer the high-speed allowance.
Download the 10-row CSV or open the complete JSON dataset. The headline counts use the original eight-provider core sample. Two related Roaming eSIM daily options are included for buyer choice and do not change those counts. First-party terms and the Roaming eSIM catalog were checked on August 7, 2026.
Which plan structure fits your Europe trip?
| Your likely use | What to compare first |
|---|---|
| Maps, messages, tickets, and light browsing | A modest daily allowance with continued data can be enough, but check what the reduced speed supports. |
| Several quiet days and one heavy upload day | A whole-trip or monthly high-speed pool gives you more freedom to shift usage between days. |
| Laptop hotspot and video meetings | Check the hotspot rule, the allowance shared with the laptop, and the post-cap speed. “Hotspot supported” is not a performance guarantee. |
| Family sharing from one phone | Look for a stated hotspot allowance or restriction. Multiple devices can use a daily quota quickly. |
| Streaming over mobile data | Compare the numeric high-speed allowance and reset clock. Reduced speed can make high-resolution video impractical. |
| You do not want to estimate trip data | A continued-data plan reduces the risk of a hard stop, but it can still change speed during the day or trip. |
| You need steady high speed for work | A sufficiently large fixed-data plan may fit better than a daily allowance that slows on the day you need it most. |
The main finding: 6 of 8 sampled plans publish both the high-speed allowance and the post-cap speed. Five publish all four decision fields: allowance, reduced speed, reset outcome, and hotspot rule.
The buying rule: compare the allowance, its time window, the speed afterward, and hotspot terms together. The unlimited label alone does not answer any of those questions.
Explore 8 core plans and 2 related Roaming eSIM options
Compare the allowance, reduced speed, reset, and hotspot rule
The headline audit uses one plan per provider. The explorer also includes Roaming eSIM's 500MB/day and 2GB/day choices so travelers can compare all three daily allowances without changing the eight-provider result.
Loading the 10-plan CSV...
What the eight-plan throttle audit found
- Seven of eight offers use the word unlimited. Roaming eSIM is the only exception in the sample, using the explicit name Europe 1GB/Day.
- Six publish a numeric or bounded high-speed allowance. The checked Holafly and Yesim pages refer to fair-use management without giving a numeric plan-level allowance.
- Six publish a numeric speed after the allowance. The stated rates range from 384 Kbps to a first-stage 10 Mbps, but the allowance windows and trigger rules differ.
- Five publish all four decision fields. Airalo, Saily, Nomad, Maya Mobile, and Ubigi provide usable answers for allowance, reduced speed, reset, and hotspot use in the checked source set.
- Daily does not always mean midnight. Airalo and Nomad state that their 24-hour cycle begins at activation. Maya Mobile says a throttle is removed within 24 hours. Holafly says the slowdown lasts one day and returns the next day.
- A monthly pool is not a daily ration. Ubigi's 60 GB applies across the 30-day plan. The study does not divide that into a promised 2 GB per day.
- Hotspot permission has several meanings. It can be unrestricted within the main allowance, limited to 1 GB per day, allowed for occasional personal use, operator-dependent, or package-dependent.
- No plan wins every use case. A larger allowance, faster continuation, clearer name, flexible window, and better hotspot rule are separate advantages.
Eight Europe travel eSIM plans compared

| Provider and sampled offer | High-speed allowance | Speed after the limit | Reset or duration outcome | Hotspot rule |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 🏆 Roaming eSIM, Europe 1GB/Day | 1 GB per day | 384 Kbps | Daily; exact reset clock not stated | Package-dependent |
| Airalo, Eurolink Unlimited | 3 GB per 24 hours by default | 1 Mbps | Every 24 hours from activation | Allowed within the same allowance |
| Saily, Europe Unlimited | 3 GB or 5 GB per 24 hours, by destination | 1 Mbps | Start of each 24-hour cycle | Europe page says unlimited sharing; terms restrict excessive tethering |
| Nomad, Europe Day Plan | Selectable daily quota; guide lists 500 MB to 3 GB | 512 Kbps | Every 24 hours from activation | Supported |
| Holafly, Europe Unlimited | Not numerically stated | Not numerically stated | Slowdown lasts one day, then speed returns | 1 GB per day |
| Maya Mobile, Europe+ Unlimited | First managed stage after more than 3 GB in a day | 10 Mbps, then 1 Mbps if very high use continues | Throttle removed within 24 hours | Ordinary laptop use allowed; router-style use restricted |
| Yesim, Europe and UK Unlimited | Not numerically stated | Lower speed stated, rate not given | Not stated on checked page | Operator-dependent |
| Ubigi, Europe Unlimited 30 Days | 60 GB for the whole plan | 2 Mbps | Reduced speed for the rest of the plan | Data sharing allowed |
The table is a terms comparison. It does not say that a network will deliver the maximum possible radio speed before the allowance. Coverage, congestion, device bands, routing, and the underlying operator still affect the connection.
🏆 Roaming eSIM: the allowance is in the plan name
The sampled Roaming eSIM Europe plan is called Europe 1GB/Day. The live public catalog states 1 GB of high-speed data, a one-day validity, and continued data at 384 Kbps. It also marks this plan as eligible for top-up and lists a US$5.60 retail price at the snapshot time.
That makes the plan easy to decode, but not the performance winner. Its 1 GB allowance is smaller than several sampled daily offers, and 384 Kbps is the lowest numeric post-cap rate in the table. The evidence-backed Roaming eSIM advantage is precision: the buyer does not have to translate an unlimited headline to find the daily allowance.
🏆 Roaming eSIM wins the plan-name clarity check. Europe 1GB/Day is the only core-sample name that states the high-speed allowance. The same direct naming applies to all three live Roaming eSIM daily choices, and the public catalog states the 384 Kbps continuation rate for each.
Three Roaming eSIM daily allowances, not only 1GB/Day
The core comparison keeps one plan per provider so Roaming eSIM does not receive extra weight. The live Europe eSIM catalog also contained two related daily choices when checked at 12:17 UTC on August 7, 2026. All three continue at 384 Kbps after the stated high-speed allowance.
| Roaming eSIM Europe plan | High-speed data | Continued speed | Snapshot price | Top-up status in the checked catalog |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 🏆 Europe 500MB/Day | 500 MB per day | 384 Kbps | US$3.20 | Not marked eligible |
| 🏆 Europe 1GB/Day | 1 GB per day | 384 Kbps | US$5.60 | Eligible |
| 🏆 Europe 2GB/Day | 2 GB per day | 384 Kbps | US$10.80 | Eligible |
These plan names do not use the word unlimited. They are continued-data plans: the connection remains available at the published lower speed after the daily high-speed portion is used. That wording is more precise than presenting all three as identical unlimited packages.
Choose 500MB/Day for light navigation, messages, tickets, and basic browsing. Choose 1GB/Day when daily use also includes more social media or photo sharing. Choose 2GB/Day when you expect heavier daily use or occasional uploads. Those are usage-fit examples, not measured performance promises. Use the travel data calculator before deciding.
The 500MB/Day plan was not marked as eligible for top-up in the checked catalog. The 1GB/Day and 2GB/Day plans were. This is why the article says top up an eligible plan rather than implying that every Roaming eSIM package can be reloaded.
Roaming eSIM also provides 24/7 support. That matters when the traveler needs to confirm hotspot support or the reset clock for the exact package. Support availability is useful, but it does not turn an unstated term into a published one, so hotspot receives no disclosure point in this audit.
Airalo: 3 GB in a rolling 24-hour cycle
Airalo's unlimited-data fair-use policy publishes a default allowance of 3 GB per 24 hours. After that, speed falls to 1 Mbps for the rest of the cycle. The cycle begins when the eSIM activates and repeats every 24 hours.
Hotspot use is allowed and shares the same allowance. Airalo also states that a different threshold can appear in the package details, so the package remains the final source at checkout.
Saily: the allowance can change inside Europe
The Saily Europe page offers an unlimited option and says hotspot sharing is unlimited. Its current consumer terms add important detail: regular unlimited plans provide either 3 GB or 5 GB at full speed per 24 hours, depending on the destination, then 1 Mbps for the rest of that cycle.
The same terms prohibit excessive tethering or sharing beyond occasional personal use. A multi-country Europe traveler should therefore check the allowance attached to each destination rather than assuming one regional figure follows them everywhere.
Nomad: selectable daily quota, then 512 Kbps
Nomad's Europe eSIM page says the selected daily high-speed quota continues at 512 Kbps after use and resets every 24 hours from activation. Its day-plan guide lists 500 MB, 1 GB, 2 GB, and 3 GB daily choices, with 2 GB and 3 GB limited to some destinations.
The Europe page confirms hotspot support. Because the crawler-visible plan card does not place one selected quota beside the five-day and ten-day unlimited offers, the dataset keeps the documented option range instead of assigning an unsupported single number.
Holafly: clear hotspot allowance, unknown speed threshold
The Holafly Europe page sells an unlimited on-device plan and states a 1 GB daily hotspot allowance. Its unlimited-data help page says there is no specific data limit, but an operator may reduce speed after a high-speed limit. It says the slowdown lasts one day and normal speed returns the next.
The checked public sources do not quantify that high-speed threshold or the reduced rate. The study records both as not stated. It does not fill the cells with figures from reviews, forums, or another destination.
Maya Mobile: a two-stage managed-speed policy
Maya Mobile's unlimited-data guidelines say speed may be temporarily reduced to 10 Mbps after daily use exceeds 3 GB. If very high use continues, it may fall to 1 Mbps. Any throttle is removed within 24 hours.
The first threshold is numeric; the later threshold is not. The policy permits ordinary laptop or tablet hotspot use, including a Zoom call, but says the service is not intended to operate as a router or proxy for several computers. The Europe+ product page also lists WiFi sharing for Europe plans.
August 12 update: those figures describe the dated support policy and legacy Europe+ source used in this fixed August 7 sample. They do not confirm the threshold for Maya's current global TravelMode passes. The current global sales page says there is no throttling, while the current terms define an unnamed Daily Quota and standard-speed continuation. Our Maya TravelMode eSIM report explains the conflict and the questions to ask before buying. The historical dataset remains unchanged so its source snapshot is reproducible.
Yesim: the public Europe page leaves both numbers open
The checked Yesim Europe and UK offer says speed may be limited under the network operator's fair-use policy. It says lower-speed data remains after the allocated high-speed amount and lists hotspot support as operator-dependent.
It does not give the numeric high-speed allowance, numeric reduced rate, or reset outcome on the public page. A buyer considering this plan needs to find those details in the live offer or ask support before payment.
Ubigi: one 60 GB pool across 30 days
Ubigi's Europe Unlimited 30 Days plan publishes 60 GB at full speed, then 2 Mbps for the rest of the plan. Data sharing is allowed.
This structure can suit uneven use. A traveler may use more than 2 GB on one day without triggering a daily cap, provided the 60 GB pool remains. It would be misleading to divide 60 GB by 30 and describe the result as a promised daily allowance.
What 384 Kbps, 512 Kbps, 1 Mbps, 2 Mbps, and 10 Mbps mean

Bits per second describe the maximum transfer rate, not how responsive an app will feel. Eight bits make one byte, so the theoretical transfer rates are:
| Published rate | Theoretical maximum | Practical expectation, not a guarantee |
|---|---|---|
| 384 Kbps | About 48 KB per second | Text messages and light tasks may continue; image-heavy pages and media can be slow. |
| 512 Kbps | About 64 KB per second | Messaging, email, and basic navigation may remain usable; large files and video are constrained. |
| 1 Mbps | About 125 KB per second | Airalo says maps, messages, simple pages, and lower-quality video calls can continue. |
| 2 Mbps | About 250 KB per second | Ubigi describes messaging, email, maps, and light browsing as suitable uses. |
| 10 Mbps | About 1.25 MB per second | Many everyday tasks can work, but latency, congestion, and the next fair-use stage still matter. |
These are arithmetic conversions and provider descriptions, not results from our own network test. A nominal 1 Mbps connection can still feel poor if latency is high, packets are lost, or the local network is congested.
Daily allowance or whole-trip data: which is safer?
The right answer depends on how your usage is distributed, not just how much data you expect in total.
Choose a daily continuation plan when your use is steady
A daily plan can work well when each day looks similar: maps, transport apps, messages, tickets, and a modest amount of social media. The allowance returns on a stated cycle, and the connection continues after the high-speed portion is used.
The drawback appears on a heavy day. Unused allowance from yesterday usually does not move to today. A long train ride, a cloud backup, or a laptop session can trigger reduced speed even when the average across the trip is modest.
Choose a whole-trip or monthly pool when use is uneven
A pooled allowance lets quiet days compensate for busy ones. Ubigi's 60 GB monthly structure is the clearest example in this sample. A conventional 10 GB, 20 GB, or 50 GB fixed plan works on the same general principle: the traveler controls when to use the remaining high-speed data.
The tradeoff is a hard pool. Once a fixed allowance is gone, the plan may stop or require a top-up unless its terms include continued low-speed data.
Treat hotspot use as its own requirement
Hotspot is not a yes-or-no feature across this sample. Holafly states 1 GB per day. Airalo allows tethering within the main allowance. Saily's Europe page says unlimited hotspot sharing while its terms limit excessive use. Yesim makes the answer operator-dependent. Roaming eSIM tells buyers to confirm the selected package.
For a work trip, check whether the laptop shares the phone allowance, whether the plan permits sustained tethering, and whether the reduced rate can handle the actual meeting software. A hotspot icon alone does not answer those questions.
Questions travelers ask about eSIM throttling
How much high-speed data does an unlimited travel eSIM include?
There is no standard allowance. In this Europe sample, published structures include 1 GB per day, 3 GB per rolling 24 hours, a destination-dependent 3 GB or 5 GB per 24 hours, selectable daily quotas, and 60 GB across a 30-day plan. Two checked offers do not publish a numeric plan-level allowance on the public page.
When does an eSIM actually slow down?
It slows after the applicable high-speed allowance or managed-use threshold is reached. That threshold may apply daily, every rolling 24 hours, or across the whole plan. Maya Mobile uses a two-stage policy, with an initial managed rate after 3 GB and a later rate if very high use continues.
Will maps and messages work after the speed drops?
Often, but there is no universal guarantee. Airalo describes maps, messages, simple pages, and lower-quality video calls as possible at 1 Mbps. Ubigi describes messaging, email, maps, and light browsing at 2 Mbps. At 384 or 512 Kbps, lightweight tasks use much of the available rate more comfortably than photo feeds, video, or large downloads.
Does the high-speed allowance reset at midnight?
Not necessarily. Airalo and Nomad use rolling 24-hour cycles from activation. Saily says each new 24-hour cycle restores the applicable allowance. Maya Mobile says a throttle is removed within 24 hours. Roaming eSIM states a daily allowance but the checked record does not define the clock. Never assume local midnight unless the exact plan says so.
Can I use an unlimited Europe eSIM as a hotspot?
It depends on the plan. The sampled rules range from allowed within the main allowance to a separate 1 GB daily cap, occasional personal use, operator-dependent use, and package-dependent use. Check the hotspot rule before planning to connect a laptop or several travelers.
Does hotspot use consume the same high-speed allowance?
Airalo says it does. Other providers use different language. Holafly gives the Europe plan a separate 1 GB daily hotspot allowance. Saily permits sharing but restricts excessive tethering. If the source does not say whether the pools are shared, ask before purchase rather than assuming.
Is a large fixed-data plan better than an unlimited plan?
It can be. A fixed 20 GB, 50 GB, or 100 GB allowance can suit a traveler with irregular heavy-use days because unused data remains available later in the trip. A daily continued-data plan can suit steady use and reduces the risk of a complete cutoff. Compare the live prices only after choosing the structure that matches the trip.
Use the travel data calculator to estimate the total, then compare that estimate with the daily or whole-plan window. If the plan can be extended, the Travel eSIM Top-Up Index explains why adding data and reinstalling a profile are separate questions.
Which plan structure suits remote work and Zoom calls?
A plan with a large shared pool, an explicit hotspot rule, and a usable post-cap rate is easier to assess for work. Maya Mobile expressly allows ordinary laptop hotspot use and Zoom calls but can manage very high use. Airalo allows hotspot within its daily allowance. A traveler who cannot tolerate a mid-call slowdown should prefer enough fixed high-speed data or a plan whose daily allowance comfortably covers the work session.
Can fair-use limits change by destination or operator?
Yes. Saily states that its regular unlimited allowance depends on the destination. Airalo says a package may use a threshold different from its default. Yesim makes the hotspot and speed-management terms operator-dependent. Regional coverage does not create one regional fair-use rule unless the provider says it does.
What should I do when the fair-use policy is vague?
Save the exact plan name and ask four questions before paying:
- How many GB are available at normal network speed?
- What numeric speed follows?
- When does the high-speed allowance return?
- Is hotspot allowed, and does it have a separate cap?
If those answers are important and remain unavailable, choose a plan with explicit terms. Do not fill the gaps with a figure from a different country, an old forum comment, or a provider-wide review.
How to read this comparison
An unlimited label can cover very different allowances, reset periods and hotspot rules. Watch for these comparison errors:
- provider-wide claims were sometimes used where plan and destination terms differ;
- daily and monthly allowances were presented beside each other without preserving the time window;
- current product pages and policy pages were not always linked at row level;
- missing numeric terms were replaced with estimates or third-party figures;
- few pages offered a dated CSV, normalized JSON, checksum, and public generation method;
- provider-authored rankings often favored the publisher's own offer without separating fact from commercial preference.
This comparison uses a fixed Europe scope, first-party sources, an explicit not-stated class, a downloadable dataset and no composite "best" score. Use the row-level source when one exact allowance, reduced speed or hotspot rule determines the purchase.
Research method and reproducibility
Sample selection
The study predeclared one current Europe or Europe-and-UK continued-data offer from eight providers. A qualifying offer continues to provide data after a high-speed allowance or managed-use threshold. It does not need to use the word unlimited.
Roaming eSIM was included because this is Roaming eSIM research. The other seven were retained only when we could verify a current Europe product and first-party public terms. We stopped at eight rather than pad the sample with a plan whose cap or availability could only be inferred.
Fields recorded
For every row, we recorded:
- the provider and exact sampled offer or product family;
- whether the offer uses the unlimited label;
- the high-speed allowance and its original time window;
- the numeric speed after the allowance, when stated;
- the reset or remainder-of-plan outcome;
- the hotspot rule;
- all first-party source URLs;
- the UTC source-check time;
- a SHA-256 checksum of the normalized terms and sources.
A plan receives one disclosure field for each usable answer published in the checked source set: allowance, post-cap speed, reset outcome, and hotspot rule. This count measures information available to a buyer. It does not measure network quality or value.
What the study does not compare
We did not purchase the plans, measure radio or routed speed, test customer support, or rank coverage. Price is also excluded because the plans use different validity windows and prices can change independently of the fair-use terms.
The post-cap figures are not directly ranked as service quality. Maya Mobile's first-stage 10 Mbps follows a partly discretionary two-stage rule. Ubigi's 2 Mbps follows a 60 GB monthly pool. Roaming eSIM's 384 Kbps follows 1 GB in a daily plan. A larger number in one column does not make the surrounding plan a universal winner.
Reproduce or update the dataset
The normalized input is stored in scripts/research/data/travel-esim-throttle-index-source.json. Run:
node scripts/research/generate-travel-esim-throttle-index.mjs
The script validates the eight-provider core sample and the two related Roaming eSIM options, creates the CSV and JSON files, computes checksums, and renders the three WebP charts from the core rows.
- Download the CSV dataset
- Open the complete JSON with sources, competitor review, and demand questions
- Review the public generation script
Suggested citation: Roaming eSIM research team. “Travel eSIM Throttle Index: What 8 Europe Plans Give You Before Speeds Drop.” August 7, 2026. Include the page URL and source-check date.
Limitations and disclosure
- This is a purposive core sample of eight Europe offers, plus two related Roaming eSIM options. It does not cover every travel eSIM plan on the market.
- Public pages can differ from an app, account, checkout, or destination-specific offer. A missing value means not stated in the checked public source set.
- Provider and operator terms can change. Recheck the live package before payment.
- Published post-cap speed is not a promise of measured performance. Coverage, congestion, routing, latency, device support, and local rules still matter.
- Reddit and search results identify questions and content gaps. They are not statistically representative of all travelers.
- Roaming eSIM publishes this research and sells the sampled Europe plan. The method does not award Roaming eSIM a general winner label. It receives the plan-name clarity result because that fact is visible in the fixed sample.
The practical conclusion for Europe travelers
Start with the time window. If your mobile use is steady from day to day, a daily continued-data plan can provide a predictable reset. If your use is uneven, a whole-trip high-speed pool can protect the one day when you need more data. If you rely on a laptop, make hotspot terms a required field rather than an afterthought.
Roaming eSIM is the clearest plan-name option in this sample: Europe 1GB/Day says what the high-speed allowance is, and the public catalog states 384 Kbps afterward. It is not the largest or fastest offer. Its case rests on knowing the tradeoff before purchase, a one-day option, top-up eligibility for the sampled plan, and access to 24/7 support.
That is also the standard this index applies to every provider: show the allowance, show the speed afterward, define the clock, and explain hotspot use.


