Travel eSIM Data Tracking Index: How 10 Providers Show Your Remaining Data

Nine of the ten travel eSIM providers in this study publish some form of provider-side data tracking. Six explicitly say they show remaining data. Only four publish any indication of how quickly the provider meter updates.
That difference matters. A phone can estimate how much mobile data passed through one line, but it does not know the provider's official package balance, reporting delay, expiry rule, or daily high-speed reset. A useful tracking screen needs to answer more than “How much did this phone use?”
Study result: Roaming eSIM and Ubigi are the only two providers in this fixed sample whose checked public pages explicitly claim real-time provider tracking. Nomad publishes the widest set of tracking details. Maya Mobile is the only provider that publishes downloadable session records.
Roaming eSIM earns a genuine win on the update-speed claim. Its official iPhone listing promises real-time data usage tracking in the app. The same listing does not explain whether the public-facing meter shows remaining data, expiry, low-data alerts, or a downloadable history, so those fields remain not stated rather than being assumed.
Download the 10-provider CSV or open the complete JSON dataset. Every provider row links to the first-party text checked on August 7, 2026.
Which tracking setup fits your trip?
| What you need | What to look for in the study |
|---|---|
| A quick check before opening maps | A published remaining-data figure, not only a phone usage counter. |
| A plan managed from a laptop or travel router | Browser access. Holafly, Nomad and Ubigi publish both app and web access in the checked sources. |
| A warning before the package ends | A stated provider alert. Airalo, Nomad, Maya Mobile and Ubigi publish alerts in this sample. |
| A meter with a stated refresh expectation | An update-timing disclosure. Roaming eSIM and Ubigi claim real-time tracking, Nomad describes a short delay, and Maya publishes a one to two hour reporting window. |
| A record for a billing dispute | Exportable session records. Maya Mobile is the only sampled provider whose checked page publishes a CSV download. |
| An unlimited plan | Remaining service days are not the same as remaining high-speed data. Check the daily allowance and refresh rule separately. |
Explore the 10-provider CSV
Compare what each provider shows before your data runs out
Filter the dated first-party disclosures by remaining balance, app and browser access, alerts, update timing, or downloadable records. Missing text stays not stated.
Loading the 10-provider CSV...
What the 10-provider comparison found

The broad finding is not that tracking is rare. It is that the details around the meter are uneven.
- Nine providers publish provider-side tracking. GigSky's checked help page instead directs the traveler to phone settings.
- Six explicitly publish remaining data: Airalo for most packages, Holafly, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM and Ubigi.
- Three publish both app and browser access: Holafly, Nomad and Ubigi.
- Four publish low-data alerts: Airalo, Nomad, Maya Mobile and Ubigi.
- Four publish update timing: Roaming eSIM, Nomad, Maya Mobile and Ubigi.
- One publishes a downloadable session CSV: Maya Mobile.
These counts describe public documentation, not every feature inside every account. “Not stated” means the checked public text does not answer the field. It does not prove that the feature is unavailable after purchase.
🏆 Roaming eSIM and Ubigi publish the strongest update-speed claim
The checked Roaming eSIM App Store listing and Ubigi pages both use real-time wording. No other provider in the sample makes the same provider-meter claim in the checked text.
Nomad comes close, but its help page is more precise about possible delay. It says changes may take a few minutes and some status updates can take up to five minutes. Maya Mobile states that roaming-network usage records may arrive one to two hours later.
Roaming eSIM advantage: The public claim is simple and useful: real-time data usage tracking in the app, backed by 24/7 support on the same official listing. Travelers can check the meter and reach support from one product. The next documentation improvement should be to publish what the meter displays and whether alerts are available.
The study records the wording rather than treating it as a stopwatch result. We did not buy ten plans and create controlled data sessions, so “real-time” remains a provider claim.
🏆 Nomad publishes the most complete tracking instructions
Nomad documents six of the seven fields used in the comparison. Its data usage help page covers:
- data used and data remaining;
- the plan expiry date;
- iOS and Android app access;
- browser access;
- guest browser lookup using the purchase email and ICCID;
- email and push alerts at 60% and 80% used;
- a possible delay of a few minutes, with some updates taking up to five minutes.
Nomad does not publish a downloadable session file in the checked page. It still gives the traveler the most complete pre-purchase explanation of what the tracking screen contains and how to reach it.
🏆 Maya Mobile publishes the best usage audit trail
Maya Mobile takes a different approach. Its usage help page publishes a data usage bar, a detailed account view, and a CSV export. The file can include the eSIM identifier, session start and end times, data consumed, country and mobile network.
Maya also states the limitation directly. Usage records are not real time and may arrive one to two hours after use. Its account email settings page says near-limit data alerts are enabled by default.
That combination is useful when the question is not only “What is left?” but also “Where did the provider record this usage?” None of the other nine checked providers publishes an equivalent session CSV in the sources used for this study.
Tracking is common, but key details are missing from many public pages

Remaining data is more useful than data used
A phone counter usually reports data used during a device-defined period. A provider balance can account for the purchased allowance and the provider's own charging records. The two numbers answer different questions.
Holafly explains this distinction clearly. Its balance guide says phone settings provide an estimate, while the provider account gives the official balance. Limited plans show remaining GB. Unlimited plans show remaining service days instead.
Saily and aloSIM also publish direct remaining-data instructions. Saily places the figure under the eSIM in its app. aloSIM says My eSIMs shows how much remains on each package and lets the traveler open a package to see its expiration date.
Airalo's statement is conditional. It says most packages can be tracked in the app or iOS widget, with low-data alerts at 25% and 10% remaining. The word “most” matters, so the dataset does not upgrade that claim to universal coverage.
An update delay can explain a meter mismatch
A provider meter and phone counter may disagree for several ordinary reasons:
- the phone statistics were not reset when the travel plan began;
- the phone is counting a different SIM or billing period;
- the provider receives usage records after the data session;
- one display rounds data differently;
- background activity continued between two checks.
Nomad explicitly warns that device and provider figures can differ and that app updates can lag. Maya publishes a one to two hour reporting window. Holafly tells travelers to reset phone statistics when the plan starts if they want a cleaner device estimate.
If the two figures differ, take a screenshot of both with the time, active data line and plan name. Wait for the provider's stated update window before assuming that the balance is wrong. A session-level export is more useful than a single total when the difference needs investigation.
Alerts are useful only when the threshold is clear
Four providers publish alerts, but only Airalo and Nomad publish exact thresholds in the checked sources.
- Airalo states notifications at 25% and 10% remaining for the covered packages.
- Nomad states email and push alerts at 60% and 80% used.
- Maya Mobile says near-limit alerts are enabled by default but does not state a percentage on the checked page.
- Ubigi says account users receive alert notifications but does not state a threshold on the checked homepage.
An alert without a threshold is still useful, but it is harder to plan around. A traveler who needs enough data for an airport transfer may prefer a provider that says when the alert arrives.
Fixed data, unlimited data and daily refreshes need different tracking
A fixed 5GB package has a straightforward question: how much of the 5GB remains? An unlimited package can have at least two separate clocks:
- the number of service days remaining;
- the amount of high-speed data remaining before the daily or plan-level speed rule applies.
Holafly's checked page says unlimited plans show service days rather than data usage. That does not tell the traveler how close they are to any high-speed threshold. Jetpac publishes a daily high-speed allowance and refresh rule on the checked product page, but the same page does not say that its app meter displays the daily allowance remaining.
Our Travel eSIM Throttle Index compares high-speed allowances, post-cap speeds and refresh rules. Use that study with this tracking index. One explains the plan rule; the other asks whether the provider publishes a meter and enough detail to understand it.
How to track your travel eSIM without mixing up the numbers
Before activation
Save the purchased allowance, validity and activation rule. Give the eSIM a clear phone label such as “Japan data” or “Europe trip.” If you plan to use the phone counter as a second record, reset it when the package actually starts.
Our installation timing guide explains why installation, activation and first network connection are separate events. Use the provider's activation rule to decide when to reset the phone statistics.
During the trip
Check the provider balance before a data-heavy task, not after it. Record the remaining amount and the time. If the provider publishes an update delay, allow for it.
Keep the travel eSIM selected as the mobile-data line. On dual-SIM phones, automatic data switching can send traffic through another line and make the device view harder to interpret. The provider account is usually the better place to confirm the purchased package itself.
If you need more data, use the Travel eSIM Top-Up Index to check whether the plan can be extended without reinstalling. A visible balance does not guarantee that a package is reloadable.
When the balance reaches zero
Keep a recovery path outside the active data connection. Save the provider login, account URL and support details. Browser management is especially useful for a travel router or when the eSIM is installed on someone else's phone.
Some providers publish special zero-balance access or essential-app access, but that is outside this study's fixed fields. Do not assume every tracking or top-up screen remains reachable after the data package ends.
Questions travelers ask about eSIM data tracking
How can I check how much data is left on a travel eSIM?
Use the provider's app or account when it publishes an official remaining balance. In this sample, six providers explicitly publish remaining data. A phone setting usually estimates data used rather than the provider's package balance.
Why does the provider balance differ from my phone?
The phone and provider can use different periods, rounding and update schedules. Confirm the active data line, reset date and provider delay. Maya states a one to two hour delay, while Nomad says some updates can take a few minutes.
Which providers publish real-time eSIM data tracking?
Roaming eSIM and Ubigi are the two providers in this sample whose checked public pages explicitly claim real-time tracking. The study records that wording and does not independently verify latency.
Can I check eSIM data usage in a browser?
Holafly, Nomad and Ubigi publish both app and browser access in the checked sources. Maya publishes web account access. The other checked pages either name an app, point to phone settings, or do not state browser tracking.
Will I receive a warning before the data runs out?
Airalo, Nomad, Maya Mobile and Ubigi publish alerts. Airalo states 25% and 10% remaining. Nomad states 60% and 80% used. Maya and Ubigi do not publish an exact threshold in the checked pages.
Can the meter show the expiry date too?
Nomad and aloSIM explicitly publish an expiry date in the account view. Holafly publishes remaining service days for unlimited plans. Other providers may show expiry after purchase, but the checked sources do not state it.
How do I track an unlimited eSIM's daily high-speed allowance?
First confirm whether the plan has a daily or total high-speed threshold. Then check whether the provider meter shows that specific allowance rather than only service days or general usage. The checked pages do not consistently answer this across the sample.
Can I track each SIM separately on an iPhone?
The provider account identifies the purchased eSIM package. Phone-level statistics can be harder to separate when more than one SIM is active or automatic data switching is enabled. Label the lines clearly and keep the travel eSIM selected for mobile data.
Can one account track several travelers' eSIMs?
It depends on the provider. aloSIM publishes instructions for labeling and viewing several packages in one app account. Public Reddit discussions show that family management is a recurring question, but this study does not classify every provider's multi-user rules.
Can I download the usage history?
Maya Mobile is the only provider in this ten-provider sample whose checked page publishes a session-level CSV download. The other checked sources do not state an equivalent export.
Why current data-balance search results do not settle the comparison
We reviewed ten prominent pages for terms such as check travel eSIM data balance, travel eSIM data usage tracker, eSIM remaining data, eSIM usage update delay and eSIM data usage browser.
Most useful results were first-party instructions from Airalo, Holafly, Nomad, Maya Mobile, aloSIM, MobiMatter and GigSky. Broad comparison pages discussed app availability or general features, but did not consistently record:
- whether the provider shows remaining data rather than only device usage;
- whether expiry is visible in the same account;
- app and browser access as separate fields;
- low-data alert thresholds;
- provider-meter update timing;
- downloadable session records;
- a dated source for every provider row.
This study fills that gap with one method, one fixed sample, row-level first-party sources, a CSV, normalized JSON, checksums and a public generation script.
Public Reddit discussions were used to identify traveler questions, not to establish provider facts. Recent threads ask for browser-based usage management, separate dual-SIM tracking, family account management and explanations for provider and phone meter differences. The ten normalized questions and source URLs are preserved in the JSON dataset.
How we compared 10 travel eSIM data trackers
Sample selection
The sample contains Roaming eSIM and the same nine international travel eSIM providers used in our preceding refund-policy study: Airalo, Holafly, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM, Maya Mobile, Ubigi, GigSky and Jetpac.
We kept the sample fixed so a provider was not added merely because it documented a favorable feature. Each provider needed a current public product, app-store, help or account-management page that could be checked without buying a plan. This is a purposive disclosure sample, not a market-share ranking.
Seven fields checked for every provider
Each provider was checked for:
- provider-side tracking;
- an explicit remaining-data figure;
- expiry or days remaining;
- app access;
- browser access;
- low-data alerts;
- update timing and downloadable records.
The last item produces two separate dataset columns, so researchers can distinguish a refresh statement from a session export.
Published means the checked first-party text explicitly describes the field. Conditional means the statement applies to most plans or another stated subset. Device only means the checked provider page points to operating-system counters without publishing provider-side balance tracking. Missing answers remain not stated.
What this study did not test
We did not purchase the ten plans, compare live app screens, create controlled data sessions, measure meter latency, test alert delivery, inspect account-only features, or judge app usability. We did not score network quality, coverage, price, top-up eligibility or support response time.
The study answers a narrower pre-purchase question: what can a traveler verify from the provider's public documentation before choosing a plan?
How to rebuild the dataset and charts
The normalized input is stored in scripts/research/data/travel-esim-data-tracking-index-source.json. Run:
node scripts/research/generate-travel-esim-data-tracking-index.mjs
The script validates the ten-provider sample, creates the CSV and JSON files, computes a SHA-256 checksum for every normalized provider record, and renders the three WebP charts from the same rows.
- Download the CSV dataset
- Open the complete JSON with sources, competitor review and demand questions
- Review the public generation script
Suggested citation: Roaming eSIM research team. “Travel eSIM Data Tracking Index: How 10 Providers Show Your Remaining Data.” August 7, 2026. Include the page URL and source-check date.
Limits of this disclosure comparison
- Public pages and account features can change after the source-check date.
- A feature can vary by plan, country, device, operating system or sales channel.
- Not stated does not mean unavailable. It means the checked public pages did not answer the field.
- A real-time claim is provider wording, not an independently measured latency result.
- Alerts can depend on permissions, account settings, email delivery and notification settings.
- Phone counters and provider balances can use different measurement periods and reporting schedules.
- Search results and Reddit discussions identify content gaps and questions. They are not a representative traveler survey.
- Roaming eSIM publishes this study and sells travel eSIM plans. The same classification rules were applied to Roaming eSIM, including fields its public listing does not state.
Choose the tracking evidence your trip needs
Choose a tracking method that matches the consequence of running out. A short city break may only need a visible remaining balance. A family trip may need one account that can distinguish several plans. A work trip may need browser access, alerts and an exportable record.
Nomad publishes the most complete instructions in this sample. Maya Mobile publishes the strongest audit trail. Holafly explains the difference between limited-plan data and unlimited-plan service days clearly. Airalo publishes exact alert thresholds for most covered packages.
🏆 Roaming eSIM and Ubigi publish the strongest update-speed claim: real-time tracking. Roaming eSIM combines that claim with in-app plan management and 24/7 support. Its public documentation would be stronger if it also stated whether the meter shows remaining data, expiry and alert thresholds.
The safest habit is to check the provider balance before a data-heavy task, record the time, and keep the phone counter as a second estimate. If the numbers differ, use the provider's published update window before drawing a conclusion.



