SAS free eSIM offers two days, but its live page does not show the 1GB allowance

August 13, 2026. SAS now includes a travel eSIM with eligible bookings. The benefit sits inside the SAS app, works in more than 190 countries and supplies two days of mobile data through Hubby eSIM. A EuroBonus login is required to find it under an upcoming trip.
There is one important difference between the launch message and the information SAS publishes today. A member of the SAS launch team said passengers receive 1 GB of free data. The current SAS Travel eSIM page promises two days but does not state a gigabyte allowance. It also does not define which bookings qualify or whether the two days are two calendar days or a 48-hour period.
The practical answer: claim the free SAS data if it appears in My trip. It is the best-value option for an eligible passenger who only needs the included arrival allowance. Check the allowance displayed in the app before relying on it for a longer stay. A Roaming eSIM is the better fit when you need to choose a published data amount, validity, operator and top-up option before departure, or when the SAS benefit does not appear.
What SAS includes with an eligible booking
SAS added the benefit in partnership with white-label provider Hubby eSIM. The live page and SAS travel extras directory currently publish the following terms.
| SAS Travel eSIM detail | What is public on August 13 |
|---|---|
| Included cost | Complimentary with an eligible SAS booking |
| Included duration | Two days of mobile data |
| Included data volume | Not stated on the live SAS page |
| Reach | More than 190 countries or destinations |
| Account | EuroBonus login required in the SAS app |
| Installation | Start in My trip while connected to stable Wi-Fi |
| Activation | SAS says to activate when you arrive |
| Calls and SMS | Data-only; the usual SIM can remain active |
| Provider | Hubby eSIM |
| More data | Paid top-ups in the SAS app |
| Support | Hubby advertises 24/7 support for SAS customers |
This is an arrival-data benefit, not an unlimited plan and not onboard Wi-Fi. It begins serving the phone at the destination after activation. SAS's separate inflight internet covers the aircraft portion of the journey where available.
The launch team said 1GB, while the current page says two days
On June 17, SAS Head of Ancillary Products Caroline Bergstroem described the new benefit as 1 GB of free mobile data. The post shared SAS's launch message and identified Hubby as the partner.
SAS's current customer page takes a different approach. It says eligible bookings include two days of data, but it does not show 1 GB or any other amount. That could mean the live benefit is still 1 GB with a two-day validity, that the allowance varies, or that the public page is simply incomplete. None of those explanations is confirmed in the terms available on the open web.
Travelers should therefore treat 1 GB as a launch-team disclosure, not as an unconditional promise for every current booking. Open the benefit in My trip and record the allowance, destination and expiry shown before installation. If the app displays something different, the app-specific offer should guide the purchase decision, and SAS or Hubby should confirm it.
Eligible SAS bookings are not publicly defined
The wording became narrower after launch coverage. Travolution's June 16 report said the service applied across all fare types and that the initial rollout particularly targeted tickets outside the European Union. SAS VP Michaela Hermans described the benefit as available for every SAS booking outside the EU. The live SAS page now says only "eligible SAS bookings."
It does not publish answers for:
- SAS-marketed flights operated by a partner airline;
- partner-marketed flights operated by SAS;
- EuroBonus award tickets;
- group, charter, staff or standby travel;
- tickets bought before the benefit launched;
- bookings with several passengers;
- connecting trips with an EU and a non-EU segment; or
- whether each traveler receives a separate benefit.
Do not rely on headlines saying "every booking" when the current sales page uses a qualification it does not define. The most reliable check is whether the eSIM appears for the logged-in traveler under the upcoming trip. If it does not, ask SAS to confirm booking eligibility before buying a top-up or depending on the free data.
How to claim the SAS Travel eSIM in the app
SAS publishes a short app path:
- Download or update the SAS app.
- Sign in with the EuroBonus account attached to the booking.
- Open the upcoming trip in My trip.
- Select the included eSIM.
- Install it while connected to reliable Wi-Fi before departure.
- Activate it at the destination.
- Track the remaining data and buy a top-up in the app if needed.
The Google Play listing and Apple App Store listing do not prominently explain the eSIM benefit, so a traveler can miss it when looking only at the store description.
If the eSIM is missing, first verify that the correct EuroBonus number is connected to the booking. Then sign out, update the app, sign in again and reopen My trip. Do not delete an installed profile as a first troubleshooting step. Public SAS terms do not explain whether a deleted profile can be reissued or transferred.
Two days does not necessarily mean 48 hours
SAS says to install before travel and activate when arriving. It does not state what event starts the first day, which time zone controls it or whether the benefit expires exactly 48 hours later.
A two-day plan can be measured as:
- two consecutive 24-hour periods from first connection;
- the activation day plus the next calendar day;
- destination-local calendar days; or
- another validity rule inside the app.
Those models produce different outcomes for a late-night arrival. Until SAS or Hubby publishes the clock, activate only when mobile data is needed and take a screenshot of the expiry shown in the app. Do not install while rushing through an airport connection; SAS specifically recommends stable Wi-Fi for the installation step.
Our guide to installing an eSIM before travel separates profile installation from plan activation. The data-use calculator can show whether 1 GB, if that is what the app provides, is enough for maps, messages and transport bookings.
The SAS eSIM is data-only, and the home SIM can still create charges
The live SAS page says the usual number remains available for calls and texts because Hubby handles only mobile data. That dual-line arrangement is useful, but keeping a home SIM active does not make calls, voicemail or SMS free abroad.
Home-carrier charges can still apply when the usual line:
- answers or places a standard cellular call;
- sends a carrier SMS;
- uses data because the wrong line is selected;
- triggers a roaming day pass; or
- receives chargeable voicemail according to the home plan.
Set the SAS profile as the mobile-data line after arrival and disable mobile-data switching if the phone might fall back to the home SIM. Check the home carrier's roaming terms before leaving the regular line enabled. Internet calls and messages use the SAS data allowance, but a phone number, standard voice minutes and SMS are not included with the travel profile. The Roaming eSIM calls and SMS guide covers the setup choices.
Coverage, networks, speed and hotspot terms are missing
SAS says the eSIM works in more than 190 countries, but it does not publish the full destination list. The current page also omits:
- the local operator in each country;
- 4G or 5G availability;
- speed caps or fair-use rules;
- where internet traffic exits to the public web;
- hotspot and tethering permission;
- network switching rules; and
- any country-specific exclusion.
The number of countries is useful for scale, not for confirming a particular itinerary. Ask Hubby whether every destination is included, especially on an island, cruise, border crossing or multi-country trip. An eSIM works through terrestrial partner networks; a country count does not promise coverage at sea, in the air or in every rural area.
SAS's launch examples named Tokyo, New York, Bangkok and Marrakech. They illustrate international reach but are not a complete coverage table. Download maps and the booking details before arrival. If hotspot access is essential for a laptop or another traveler, obtain a written answer rather than assuming a data-only profile permits tethering.
Top-ups are available, but prices and validity are not public
SAS says travelers can buy more data and track usage inside the app. Its main setup text says customers will "soon" earn EuroBonus points on purchases, while the FAQ on the same page says every top-up already earns points. The page does not list top-up prices, allowances, validity, refund rules or point rates.
This inconsistency does not affect the free benefit, but it matters before paying for more data. Check the in-app price and point message at checkout. Compare the total data and validity against an independent plan instead of assuming the airline top-up is cheaper or more rewarding.
Hubby's SAS help page provides the support route but does not expose detailed SAS plan terms without entering the support experience. SAS lists Hubby support as available around the clock and gives [email protected] for direct help.
SAS free eSIM or an independent Roaming eSIM?
The SAS benefit and a Roaming eSIM solve different versions of the same arrival problem.
| Traveler decision | SAS Travel eSIM | Roaming eSIM advantage |
|---|---|---|
| Eligible passenger needing only arrival data | Free included data should be used first | A paid plan cannot beat a genuinely free allowance on price |
| Need to confirm the allowance before travel | Live public page states two days but not GB | Each public card shows its data amount and validity |
| Booking does not show the benefit | Eligibility rules are not published | Purchase is independent of airline, fare and loyalty account |
| Want to compare local networks | SAS does not publish operators | Selected product cards list available partner operators |
| Need a longer trip plan | Top-up menu is visible only in the app | Compare fixed, daily and longer-validity options before checkout |
| Need hotspot or speed information | Public SAS page is silent | Package fields expose speed labels; confirm hotspot for the exact plan |
| Need help | Hubby advertises 24/7 support | Roaming eSIM also publishes 24/7 support and a direct support page |
π Roaming eSIM wins when choice and public plan detail matter: travelers can compare the retail price, data allowance, validity, speed label, listed operators and package-level top-up status without having an SAS booking. The SAS benefit wins the narrower price comparison for eligible passengers whose included data covers the arrival period.
The live Roaming eSIM catalog was checked at 12:28 UTC on August 13. Its lowest exact 1 GB, seven-day options returned USD 1.66 for the United States and USD 1.40 for Japan or Thailand. Morocco returned an exact 1 GB, seven-day option at USD 2.38. Final checkout totals can include applicable fees or currency conversion, and inventory can change.
| Destination | Checked Roaming eSIM example | Public operator labels on available plans |
|---|---|---|
| United States | 1 GB for 7 days from USD 1.66 | AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon appear across current packages |
| Japan | 1 GB for 7 days from USD 1.40 | KDDI/AU, Docomo, Rakuten and SoftBank appear across current packages |
| Thailand | 1 GB for 7 days from USD 1.40 | AIS, DTAC and TrueMove H appear across current packages |
| Morocco | 1 GB for 7 days from USD 2.38 | IAM and Orange Morocco appear across current packages |
These are comparison examples, not claims that every card uses every listed network. Open the selected product and package before checkout. Roaming eSIM is an EU-based company with 24/7 support, but network performance still depends on the specific package, local operator, location, device and congestion.
A ten-point check before relying on the SAS eSIM
- Update the SAS app and sign in with the EuroBonus account linked to the booking.
- Confirm that the eSIM appears under the correct upcoming trip.
- Record the data allowance and exact expiry displayed in the app.
- Check whether every passenger has a separate benefit.
- Verify all destinations, including connections and border crossings.
- Ask Hubby whether hotspot use and 5G are supported if either matters.
- Install on stable Wi-Fi before departure without activating early.
- Set the eSIM as the data line and protect the home SIM from roaming charges.
- Compare the top-up offer with a published Roaming eSIM package before paying.
- Save the booking, support email and installation instructions offline.
Ten questions travelers need answered about the SAS free eSIM
Is the SAS eSIM really free?
The current SAS page says two days of data are complimentary with an eligible booking. Top-ups after the included benefit are paid.
Does the SAS eSIM include 1GB or two days?
A SAS launch-team post says 1 GB. The current customer page says two days and omits the volume. Check the allowance shown for the actual trip instead of assuming both terms always apply.
Do the two days last for 48 hours?
SAS does not publish the start-clock method. Activate after arrival and use the expiry shown in the app.
Which SAS bookings are eligible?
The live page does not define eligibility. Launch coverage referred to all fare types and an initial emphasis outside the EU, but partner flights, award tickets, older bookings and multi-passenger handling remain unclear.
Do codeshare or partner-operated flights qualify?
No public SAS eSIM term answers that question. The benefit's presence in My trip is the immediate check; contact SAS if a qualifying-looking itinerary does not show it.
Does each passenger receive an eSIM?
SAS does not state whether the benefit is per booking, ticket or passenger. Each traveler should sign in and confirm before the group depends on one allowance.
Which countries and networks are included?
SAS publishes more than 190 countries or destinations but no full list or operator table. Confirm the exact itinerary with Hubby.
Does it include calls, SMS or a local number?
No. The SAS profile supplies mobile data. The usual SIM can remain available for the regular number, subject to home-carrier roaming charges.
Can I share the SAS data by hotspot?
The public SAS page does not state a hotspot rule. Ask Hubby before relying on tethering for work or another device.
What do SAS eSIM top-ups cost?
SAS does not publish a top-up table on the open web. The price, data amount, validity and current EuroBonus point treatment must be checked in the app.
Sources and updates
The current two-day benefit, 190-plus reach, EuroBonus login, app path, data-only scope, top-up route, provider and support details came from the live SAS eSIM page and travel extras directory, checked on August 13.
SAS and its launch team supplied the June 16 launch context, outside-EU wording and separate 1 GB statement. Travolution, Mobile Industry Review, Passport News and AwardFares were reviewed to see how leading coverage described booking eligibility, allowance and activation. Their broader headlines were not treated as stronger evidence than SAS's current qualified wording.
The public Roaming eSIM package endpoint was checked for the United States, Japan, Thailand and Morocco at 12:28 UTC on August 13. Only customer-safe fields such as public plan ID, retail price, data, validity, speed, operators and top-up status were used. No supplier price, internal package code or private catalog record was accessed.
Related coverage: compare the Virgin Atlantic free eSIM, Korean Air free eSIM and Thomas Cook free eSIM, or use the airline inflight messaging index to keep ground data separate from onboard connectivity.
Update policy
This report will be updated when SAS or Hubby publishes a current data allowance, exact two-day clock, eligibility rules, passenger allocation, destination and operator list, speed, hotspot terms, top-up table, point rate, refund policy or profile-transfer process.
The SAS and Hubby pages were checked on August 13, 2026. Travelers should use the plan details shown for their own booking because availability and terms can change.


