Up to 18% off unlimited packagesSee unlimited offers
OpenSimβ„’
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs

Loading page...

Download our app

Roam Smarter on AndroidFly Connected on iPhone
OpenSimβ„’

getopensim.com

Explore

Country eSIMsRegional eSIMsMy eSIMs

Help

SupportResourceseSIM compatibilityPrivacy PolicyTerms & Conditions

Let's stay connected

WhatsApp support β†—[email protected]
Β© 2026 OpenSimβ„’Previously Roaming eSIM. Same accounts. Same team.
OpenSimβ„’
Buy eSIMRegional eSIMsResourcesSupportMy eSIMs
Resources/eSIM Research/Travel eSIM Auto-Renewal Index: Which Plans Can Charge You After Your Trip?

Travel eSIM Auto-Renewal Index: Which Plans Can Charge You After Your Trip?

eSIM ResearchBy OpenSim research teamPublished August 17, 2026Updated August 17, 2026
Follow OpenSim

Add us to your preferred sources on Google.

Add to preferred sources↗
Eight of ten travel eSIM providers publish at least one automatic charge path while Roaming eSIM's checked offer remains prepaid

Eight of the ten travel eSIM providers in this fixed sample publish at least one offer that can charge a saved payment method without a new checkout. Six publish a calendar subscription. Airalo and Saily publish data-triggered renewal. Roamless publishes a wallet-balance trigger. These are not interchangeable billing models.

Roaming eSIM and the sampled MobiMatter plan form the lowest recurring-billing-exposure group in this audit. The current Roaming eSIM app listing describes prepaid plans with no long-term contract, and the checked listing and terms did not publish an automatic renewal or automatic top-up mechanism. The MobiMatter result is narrower: its sampled NextLink India plan explicitly says one-time prepaid with no auto-renewal, but MobiMatter is a marketplace whose other listings can have different terms.

Study result: A plan described as valid for 7, 15 or 30 days is not enough to tell you what happens next. Check the product type and the payment trigger. Eight of ten sampled providers publish an automatic charge path, but only six use a calendar cycle.

Download the travel eSIM auto-renewal CSV or open the JSON dataset. Each record includes the offer scope, trigger, entry point, cancellation route, source date and a SHA-256 checksum. The JSON also contains the fixed sample rule, ten competing pages and ten traveler questions used to design the study.

Which travel eSIM billing model fits your trip?

Your situationEvidence-based choice
One trip with a fixed return datePrefer an explicitly one-time or prepaid offer. Confirm that checkout does not add a subscription, renewal or automatic wallet refill.
A data-heavy trip where running out would be disruptiveAn optional data-triggered renewal can help, but verify the trigger and regular refill price before enabling it.
Several trips throughout the yearA calendar subscription may make sense if its included destinations and monthly use justify the recurring fee. Set a cancellation reminder before paying.
Pay-as-you-go use across many countriesA wallet-threshold top-up can preserve credit, but it may charge when the balance falls below its threshold rather than when the trip ends.
You want no documented recurring billing pathThe checked Roaming eSIM offer is prepaid with no long-term contract and no automatic charge path found. The sampled MobiMatter plan also states no auto-renewal.
You already bought a recurring offerUse the provider's documented cancellation control. Deleting the eSIM profile or turning off the line is not the same as cancelling a payment agreement.

πŸ† Roaming eSIM billing-fit win: Roaming eSIM sits in the audit's lowest recurring-billing-exposure group. Its current public offer is prepaid, has no long-term contract, and did not publish a calendar, data or wallet trigger. This is a billing-model result, not a claim that Roaming eSIM is cheapest in every destination.

Explore the 10-provider CSV

Check what can trigger the next charge

Search a provider or filter by calendar, data or wallet trigger. Each record separates the offer type, entry point, cancellation route and checked first-party source.

Loading the auto-renewal CSV...

Six providers use calendar billing, but three other trigger patterns exist

Six providers publish a calendar subscription, two publish a data threshold, one publishes a wallet threshold and two checked offers have no automatic charge path

The next payment can begin in four different ways.

Calendar subscription. eSim Travel, Holafly Plans, Saily Ultra, Nomad Pass, Ubigi monthly plans and GigSky One publish recurring billing on a time cycle. The traveler enters that billing model by buying a named subscription or starting a trial. Ordinary destination plans from the same provider may remain one-time products.

Data threshold. Airalo says an eligible renewal purchases the next plan when 10% of the current data remains, then activates it when the allowance reaches zero. Saily's optional Auto Top-Up triggers when the current data is fully depleted. Saily appears in both the calendar and data groups because Ultra and Auto Top-Up are different products.

Wallet threshold. Roamless says its optional Auto Top-Up adds a selected amount when the wallet falls below USD 5. That event can happen before, during or after a particular itinerary because it follows the stored credit balance rather than a package expiry date.

No automatic charge path in the audited offer. Roaming eSIM's current public offer describes prepaid plans with no long-term contract, and the checked pages did not document an automatic mechanism. The sampled MobiMatter NextLink plan explicitly states that it is one-time prepaid and does not auto-renew.

The mechanism matters more than the word "renewal." A monthly subscription can charge even when no data was used. A data-triggered renewal can charge early in a heavy-use trip. A wallet top-up can charge when pay-as-you-go credit crosses a cash threshold. A one-time plan requires a fresh traveler action, but the connection can stop if the allowance or validity ends.

What each provider publishes about the next charge

Roaming eSIM: prepaid offer with no automatic charge path found

The Roaming eSIM App Store listing describes prepaid international data, no long-term contract, clear pricing, and user-led plan renewals and top-ups. The Roaming eSIM terms say plan prices are presented at checkout. Neither checked page published a subscription, a saved-payment auto-renewal switch or an automatic balance trigger.

This supports a practical conclusion: a traveler who wants to buy a current prepaid plan without entering a documented recurring billing flow can choose Roaming eSIM. It does not support a broader promise that every future Roaming eSIM product must use the same model. The study should be refreshed if the catalog or terms introduce a recurring offer.

Airalo: optional renewal at 10% data remaining

Airalo Renewals are optional and limited to eligible plans. The traveler enables the feature and keeps a payment method on file. Airalo buys the next plan when the active allowance reaches 10%, but waits to activate it until the current allowance reaches zero.

The same page says renewal turns off if validity ends before the low-data event. This is useful for a high-use trip because it reduces the chance of a data gap without committing the traveler to a monthly plan. It also means the purchase can occur before the current plan is fully depleted. Airalo publishes how to turn the feature off in its app and documents alerts for an expiring payment method or failed charge.

eSim Travel: a recurring subscription or converting trial

The Municorn eSim terms describe monthly or other recurring subscriptions and trials that can convert to paid subscriptions. The billing interval and price are meant to appear before purchase. Renewal occurs at the end of the current period unless the traveler cancels.

Cancellation is documented through Apple subscription settings or the app's Manage subscription route. The checked terms did not state a pre-renewal reminder or a successful-payment receipt. The key checkout question is therefore whether the chosen item is a fixed plan, subscription or trial. Removing its eSIM profile does not appear in the documented cancellation path.

Holafly: fixed-trip eSIMs and separate Holafly Plans

Holafly sells more than one billing type. Its fixed-duration destination eSIMs are distinct from Holafly Plans, which renew every 30 days or annually. A traveler enters recurring billing by choosing a Plan, not merely by buying any Holafly destination eSIM.

Holafly says it sends a reminder before renewal and supports cancellation in its app or web dashboard. Its cancellation guide recommends cancelling at least seven days before the next renewal and says a renewed fee is not refundable for a simple change of mind. That deadline belongs in the purchase decision, not in a reminder discovered after the trip.

Saily: optional data refill and a separate monthly subscription

Saily publishes two automatic-charge mechanisms. Saily Auto Top-Up is an optional control on eligible regular plans. It triggers when the allowance is fully depleted and renews the package at its regular price, even if the first purchase used a discount.

Saily Ultra is a separate monthly subscription. Saily says ordinary pay-as-you-go plans are charged once and do not renew unless Auto Top-Up is enabled. Ultra renews monthly, and Saily tells travelers to cancel at least two days before the next payment. One provider name therefore cannot answer the billing question. The selected product and any enabled refill switch both matter.

Nomad: standard plans and a 30-day Nomad Pass

Nomad Pass is a 30-day subscription rather than an automatic feature applied to every ordinary Nomad plan. It renews each cycle and provides the stated base access and add-on benefit for the published price.

Nomad says the Pass can be cancelled from its management route at any time. Base access remains until the cycle ends, while the add-on discount ends immediately. The checked landing page did not state a pre-renewal reminder. A traveler making one journey should compare a normal destination plan with the Pass rather than assuming the Pass is simply a cheaper one-time package.

Our current Nomad Pass eSIM report covers the branded 1GB refill, no-rollover rule, 35-country list, cancellation effects and one-time trip decision. This index remains the owner for comparisons across different providers and renewal mechanisms.

Ubigi: one-off, monthly recurring and annual prepaid plan types

Ubigi explicitly separates one-off and recurring plans. Its monthly plans charge the saved card each month and state a three-month minimum before cancellation. Annual plans are paid up front, so this study does not count them as a monthly automatic renewal.

This is one of the clearest examples of why validity and billing frequency should not be treated as the same field. A plan can last a year without billing monthly, while a monthly offer can carry a minimum period. The checked pages did not spell out every cancellation screen or state a pre-renewal reminder.

Roamless: wallet refill below USD 5

Roamless Auto Top-Up follows the wallet, not a calendar or destination package. The traveler chooses an amount and enables the feature with a saved payment method. When the wallet falls below USD 5, Roamless adds that amount automatically.

Roamless says the control can be disabled in the app, sends an email receipt after each top-up, and retries a failed payment twice. This is one of the more complete public explanations in the sample. It can suit ongoing pay-as-you-go use, but a traveler should not expect the switch to turn off merely because a flight home has landed.

MobiMatter: the sampled product explicitly says one-time

MobiMatter is a marketplace, so the study does not make a provider-wide no-renewal claim. The sampled NextLink India 3 GB plan says it is one-time prepaid, has no auto-renewal and has no contract. That resolves the six billing-decision fields for this product because trigger, cancellation and renewal notice do not apply.

The scope is the important part. Another marketplace listing can come from another supplier and carry different top-up or validity rules. Read the exact product page that will appear in checkout rather than treating one plan record as the policy for the whole marketplace.

GigSky: standard one-time plans and a separate GigSky One subscription

GigSky's standard-plan help says purchased plans do not auto-renew. The newer GigSky One subscription is a separate recurring product with monthly, quarterly or annual cycles. GigSky says travelers can switch off auto-renew, cancel at any time and receive an email confirmation when the subscription purchase succeeds.

The product name again determines the result. A standard GigSky data plan and GigSky One cannot share a single yes or no label without losing information. The study records both and counts the provider as publishing an automatic path because the current subscription is publicly offered.

Six providers answer all six billing questions

Six of ten travel eSIM providers publish all six automatic billing decision fields

The disclosure check awards one field for each question a traveler can answer from the checked first-party pages:

  1. Can this audited offer charge automatically?
  2. What event triggers the charge?
  3. How does the traveler enter or enable it?
  4. What product or amount will be charged?
  5. Where can the traveler cancel or disable it?
  6. What reminder, receipt or confirmation is published?

Airalo, Holafly, Saily, Roamless, the sampled MobiMatter plan and GigSky publish all six. A clear one-time statement can resolve the fields that do not apply. A recurring provider loses a field when the checked page does not state a reminder or does not fully describe the cancellation route.

Roaming eSIM publishes enough to place its current offer in the low-exposure group, but it does not lead the disclosure score. Its listing says prepaid and no long-term contract, and the terms describe checkout pricing. The checked pages do not include a direct sentence saying "plans do not auto-renew." Publishing that sentence in the product and billing help would make the already favorable billing model easier to verify.

Actionable Roaming eSIM finding: The product model is favorable for travelers avoiding recurring billing. The documentation can improve by stating explicitly that current prepaid plans do not auto-renew and that renewals or top-ups require a traveler action, as long as product behavior confirms that wording.

Why deleting an eSIM does not cancel a recurring charge

An eSIM profile and a payment agreement are separate records. Deleting a profile removes mobile-network credentials from the phone. It does not send a cancellation request to Apple subscriptions, a provider dashboard or a saved wallet control.

Before deleting a travel line, save the order email, account identifier and cancellation confirmation. Then:

  1. Open the billing location named by the provider, such as app settings, a web dashboard or Apple subscriptions.
  2. Turn off auto-renewal, Auto Top-Up or the subscription itself.
  3. Confirm the effective date and whether paid access continues to the end of the cycle.
  4. Save the confirmation email or a screenshot that includes the plan name and date.
  5. Remove the eSIM profile only after you no longer need the line or its number for account access.

If the provider says cancellation must happen a certain number of days before billing, completing it on the renewal date may be too late. Holafly recommends seven days. Saily Ultra states two days. Ubigi publishes a three-month minimum on the audited monthly offer. Those are different conditions and should not be summarized as "cancel anytime" without the relevant scope.

For billing disputes, use the provider's support and refund path first and keep the purchase terms that were visible when you paid. The Travel eSIM Refund Rights Index compares public refund routes, while the Travel eSIM Support Access Index covers ways to reach each provider. This study does not give legal advice or decide whether an individual charge is valid.

Ten questions travelers repeatedly ask before and after buying

Public Reddit discussions were used to identify wording and decision points, not to score providers. The posts include questions from short-term visitors who were unsure whether a 30-day plan would renew, whether cancellation worked outside the destination, and whether deleting the line ended billing. They also show an important boundary: a domestic prepaid carrier that offers eSIM is not necessarily a travel eSIM provider.

The ten recurring questions were:

  1. Does a 30-day or pay-as-you-go eSIM renew automatically?
  2. How can I tell a one-time plan from a subscription before paying?
  3. Can I cancel auto-renewal after leaving the destination country?
  4. Does deleting the eSIM stop the payment agreement?
  5. Can I disable renewal immediately and keep the data already purchased?
  6. What triggers the next charge: time, low data, empty data or wallet balance?
  7. Will a discounted first purchase renew at the same price?
  8. Is there a minimum term or cancellation deadline?
  9. Does unused data or a subscription benefit roll into the next cycle?
  10. Can an accidental renewal be refunded, and what proof should I keep?

Examples include a short-term user asking whether a 30-day eSIM ends automatically, travelers describing difficulty cancelling after returning home, and a report of a renewal charge after a short UK trip. These experiences did not enter the ten-provider scores because the named domestic carrier is outside the fixed travel eSIM app sample and user reports cannot replace current provider terms.

The demand evidence shaped the study in three ways. First, the table names the exact trigger rather than using a vague auto-renew label. Second, cancellation is a separate field from deleting or disabling an eSIM. Third, marketplace and mixed-product rows state their scope so a one-time plan is not mislabeled because the same company also sells a subscription.

What existing search results do not show in one place

The search review covered ten pages returned for combinations of travel eSIM auto renewal, eSIM subscription, one-time eSIM and auto top-up terms. Current results generally fall into three groups:

  • General explainers about one-time plans versus subscriptions.
  • Best-subscription lists that compare price, data and coverage.
  • Hidden-cost articles that warn about renewal without publishing a fixed source-linked audit.

The closest cross-provider comparison explains that renewal mechanisms differ, but it does not publish this study's same-date CSV, normalized provider records, record checksums or separate cancellation and notice fields. Broad provider roundups and plan-comparison tools answer "which eSIM should I buy?" rather than "what exact event can charge me again?"

This article owns the narrower decision. It does not attempt to rank overall eSIM quality or replace the travel eSIM versus roaming comparison. The full competitor list and the specific gap recorded for each page are included in the JSON dataset so another researcher can audit the opportunity without adding ten loosely related outbound links to the reading path.

Method: how the fixed ten-provider audit works

Provider sample

The sample uses Roaming eSIM plus the next nine travel eSIM apps returned by the fixed Apple US App Store search used in the August 5 provider benchmark: Airalo, eSim Travel, Holafly, Saily, Nomad, Ubigi, Roamless, MobiMatter and GigSky. The order was fixed before checking auto-renewal behavior.

This is a provider comparison, not a market-share ranking. It excludes domestic carriers, device-maker travel services and providers outside the fixed sample. Repeating the method with another store, country or date can produce a different provider set.

Source hierarchy

The audit uses current first-party help pages, terms, plan pages and official app listings checked on August 17, 2026. A provider-authored claim establishes what the provider publishes, not whether every checkout or cancellation succeeds in practice. Reddit and competitor pages identify questions and content gaps but do not determine provider classifications.

Classification

An automatic charge path qualifies only when a checked first-party page says a saved payment method can be charged without a new checkout action. The mechanism is then classified as:

  • Calendar subscription.
  • Data-threshold renewal.
  • Wallet-threshold top-up.
  • No automatic charge path found or an explicit no-auto-renewal result.

The phrase "no path found" is intentionally narrower than "never auto-renews." It means the current pages checked for that row did not publish an automatic mechanism. The explicit MobiMatter result applies only to the named sampled product. Mixed providers keep both their one-time and recurring product descriptions in the same record.

Disclosure fields

Six fields measure whether a traveler can make the billing decision from public documentation. The score rewards clarity, not a particular business model. A clear restriction earns credit. A one-time plan can resolve otherwise inapplicable trigger and cancellation fields when the source explicitly says it does not auto-renew.

Roaming eSIM was not given credit for an explicit no-auto-renewal sentence because the checked pages did not contain one. Its low-exposure classification follows the prepaid, no-long-term-contract offer and absence of a published recurring mechanism, while its disclosure score remains three of six.

Reproducibility

The source record lives at scripts/research/data/travel-esim-auto-renewal-index-source.json. Run:

``bash npm run research:auto-renewal-index ``

The command rebuilds the CSV, JSON and three WebP charts. The dataset contains a SHA-256 checksum for the normalized source file, and every CSV record has its own checksum. The generator is deterministic: the same source file produces the same data files and chart content.

Limitations and what this study does not claim

  • The audit reads public documentation. It does not make purchases, retain payment cards, test reminder delivery or attempt live cancellation.
  • A provider can change its products or terms after August 17, 2026. Check the named product at checkout.
  • Several providers sell both one-time and recurring products. The automatic-path count means at least one audited recurring mechanism exists, not that every plan renews.
  • MobiMatter is product-scoped because it is a marketplace. Its sampled result cannot be generalized to every supplier listing.
  • App Store search order varies by country, device and date. The fixed sample makes this run reproducible, not universal.
  • The disclosure score measures published decision fields. It does not measure price, coverage, speed, customer satisfaction or legal compliance.
  • Reddit posts are qualitative demand signals. They are not a representative survey and do not determine provider scores.
  • Roaming eSIM's favorable result is based on the current public offer. It is not a claim that Roaming eSIM is the lowest-cost provider in every destination.

These limits do not change the main finding. Eight of ten providers publish a mechanism that can charge automatically, and those mechanisms do not share one trigger. A traveler can reduce billing uncertainty by identifying the product type, trigger and cancellation route before saving a payment method.

How to cite or reuse the data

Suggested citation:

Roaming eSIM research team. "Travel eSIM Auto-Renewal Index: Which Plans Can Charge You After Your Trip?" Roaming eSIM, August 17, 2026. Dataset checked August 17, 2026.

Use the CSV for analysis or the JSON for the complete method, competitive-page list and question set. When republishing a result, keep the checked date, offer scope and mechanism class together. A statement such as "GigSky auto-renews" is incomplete without distinguishing standard GigSky plans from GigSky One.

For adjacent decisions, use the Travel eSIM Top-Up Index to compare manual reload routes, the Travel eSIM Activation Clock Index to see what starts validity, and the Travel eSIM Data Tracking Index to see where remaining data is shown.

Sources checked

The provider evidence links appear in the comparison records and the front matter source list. The core first-party sources were the Roaming eSIM app listing and terms, Airalo Renewals help, Municorn subscription terms, Holafly Plans management and cancellation help, Saily Auto Top-Up and Ultra pages, the Nomad Pass page, Ubigi one-off and recurring plan guidance, Roamless Auto Top-Up help, the sampled MobiMatter product page, and GigSky's standard-plan and GigSky One pages.

All external links on this resource use nofollow. Links are provided for verification, not as endorsements. Sources were checked on August 17, 2026.

Prepaid Roaming eSIM plans to compare

Compare global, regional, and country OpenSim eSIM plans

Choose coverage that matches the countries on your route, then compare data, validity, activation, and hotspot terms.

Global plan

Global (120+ areas) eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.015 reviews

120+ destination coverage from $8.9

View plans
Regional plan

Europe eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.015 reviews

41-destination coverage from $3.2

View plans
Regional plan

North America eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.013 reviews

3-destination coverage from $2.3

View plans
Regional plan

Asia (20 areas) eSIM

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…5.011 reviews

20-destination coverage from $3.2

View plans

Keep reading

More in esim research

View category
←Previous guideTravel eSIM Passport Check Index: Which 10 Providers Ask for ID?Next guideβ†’Travel eSIM APN Readiness Index: What 10 Providers Tell You Before You Land